Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Just finished making these in the form of small eggs for Easter. Quite sweet, but very tasty. Followed the recipe as written, except that I put the shaped balls of peanut butter filling in the freezer rather than the refrigerator for the chilling step. Didn't use toothpicks for the dipping step as I thought the size of treat I made would have just been too awkward and heavy for a mere toothpick. Dipped them individually and used a fork to scoop them out of the chocolate dip and transfer to wax paper. The filling was very easy to handle, didn't crumble at all. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Made these for the holidays and they were a real hit! Everyone who had some asked for more. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEARTH4KITTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cleo Brinson
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
"They turned out great!! Made 4 dozen...delicious."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleo Brinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Those of us who are 'old school' will add a bit of paraffin wax to the chocolate as you melt it in a double boiler to help it set better and not melt on your fingers the instant one touches a candy. It sounds bizarre but like I said...most original Ohio Buckeye candy makers do it this way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I really really enjoyed this recipe, however, I read the reviews, and saw that lots of people used 3 cups of confectioners sugar instead of 1 pound. So I used the 3 cups, it turned out perfect, they were a big hit. Then the next time I made them, I made them with the whole pound of confectioners sugar and they didn't turn out well at all.. They were very crumbly, and I had to add alot more peanut butter to them to make them so you are able to roll them into balls.. But, the taste was great, the whole family really enjoyed these. Thankyou for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe. I have made these the past three Christmases... THIS recipe. They come out PERFECT. I have no trouble dipping them because I put them into the freezer on a cookie sheet for an hour or so before I dip them. They're nice and hard, and dip very well. EVERYONE in my family will absolutely revolt if I do not make these at Christmas... now a Christmas MUST for us... a TRADITION!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
DELICIOUS WITH EVERYTHING CAPS! :D Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking!!!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! I used Imperial Margarine instead of butter because that is what I had on hand. I used 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar and I just realized while writing this that I somehow missed the 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract but don't feel that it needed it because they were delicious without it. I softened the margarine a bit in the microwave before mixing it with the sugar and peanut butter and it all mixed together well. It was firm so I found it easier to mix it all together with my hands, kneeding it like dough. Immediately after mixing it, I rolled it into 1 inch balls and placed them on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper then put them in the fridge for 1 hour. I used Nestle milk chocolate morsels instead of semisweet and I used my double boiler to melt the chocolate chips and shortening and stuck a toothpick in the balls and dipped them in the chocolate. It was a bit of a pain to get rid of the holes the toothpicks made but all in all this was a very easy recipe and the end results were excellent! I didn't have any problems with my balls crumbling or falling apart. My daughter said they taste like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups only way better!! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I am a lover of all things Ohio, peanut butter and chocolate. Buckeyes get my vote X3. This recipe and I are best friends. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made these as per the recipe except I decreased the sugar to 3 cups. They turned out perfect and everyone loved them.... including ME. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States