Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Good recipe.. I use less conf sugar and add Rice Krispies for a fun crunch. My son insists on these every year at Christmas. These freeze well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Just a tip: I haven't tried this particular recipe yet but my mother's recipe calls for parafin wax melted with the chocolate instead of shortening. This helps with the hardening of the chocolate so when they are sitting out for your guests they don't melt and you don't have to worry about refrigerating them to keep them solid. A bit like Dairy Queen dip cones. I will most likely use this easier recipe with the parafin wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatia Dokes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have been making these for years. I just throw the stuff in a bowl and mix till it looks and tastes good. I could never tell someone the exact amounts so it's nice to see the actual amounts. Here's an idea you might like. It uses way more chocolate though. Using small candy paper cups (can get them at a craft store or use mini cupcake liners) place them in a mini cupcake pan. Slight flatten the peanut butter balls. Fill them 1/3 of the way with melted chocolate. Then lightly press peanut butter into chocolate. Don't press too hard. The fill to the top with chocolate. Cool and remove from pan and you have delicious peanut butter cups! I use seasonal wrappers and give them as holiday gifts. Or put them in Christmas tins from the dollar store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy but time consuming. BIG hit at Christmas parties (or in the break room).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yum!! I made this the filling for a giant peanut butter cup. I lined an 8 in cake pan with foil, put down a layer of the melted chocolate (I used one bag of chips and almost 1 tbs of butter, since I did not have shortning in the house), then pressed the filling into a disk and placed it on top. I poured the rest of the chocolate over the top. What a cool recipe! Very easy to make. As for the powdered sugar, I used about 3 cups, but I did it by eye, without measuring. The filling is soft, but that's what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried the recipe exactly as written, and it was way too sweet ( and I love sweet). I added another 1/2 cup of peanut butter and mixed all of it with my hands to get it to the right consistency. Once the sweetness was cut to the point that I could taste peanut butter it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making these for Christmas since I was a student at Ohio State many, many years ago. Right after Thanksgiving, my kids start bugging me: "Mom! When are we gonna make the BUCKEYES?!?!" They are quite the tradition in our household because they are just so sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very good, easy recipe. I already have friends asking for it! I, like others, used only 3 cups of powdered sugar. I would also recommend rolling the PB in balls first, THEN freeze for an hour and then dip. Can't stop eating these. Also, I used a third of a bar of parafin wax instead of the shortening...I think this makes the chocolate stick better and also gives it a pretty candy-like shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Skip the vanilla, it isn't needed. Also if you freeze the buckeyes before dipping them into the chocolate, they don't fall apart as often during dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States