Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy but time consuming. BIG hit at Christmas parties (or in the break room).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
These were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.RalstoninGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waco, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yum!! I made this the filling for a giant peanut butter cup. I lined an 8 in cake pan with foil, put down a layer of the melted chocolate (I used one bag of chips and almost 1 tbs of butter, since I did not have shortning in the house), then pressed the filling into a disk and placed it on top. I poured the rest of the chocolate over the top. What a cool recipe! Very easy to make. As for the powdered sugar, I used about 3 cups, but I did it by eye, without measuring. The filling is soft, but that's what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I tried the recipe exactly as written, and it was way too sweet ( and I love sweet). I added another 1/2 cup of peanut butter and mixed all of it with my hands to get it to the right consistency. Once the sweetness was cut to the point that I could taste peanut butter it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been making these for Christmas since I was a student at Ohio State many, many years ago. Right after Thanksgiving, my kids start bugging me: "Mom! When are we gonna make the BUCKEYES?!?!" They are quite the tradition in our household because they are just so sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Very good, easy recipe. I already have friends asking for it! I, like others, used only 3 cups of powdered sugar. I would also recommend rolling the PB in balls first, THEN freeze for an hour and then dip. Can't stop eating these. Also, I used a third of a bar of parafin wax instead of the shortening...I think this makes the chocolate stick better and also gives it a pretty candy-like shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Skip the vanilla, it isn't needed. Also if you freeze the buckeyes before dipping them into the chocolate, they don't fall apart as often during dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made these since childhood, they are so good, well worth the work. Easy, but time consuming. My recipe is basically this one, but instead of shortening, I use shaved paraffin wax. I can't tell you how much, because I eyeball it. It is just enough to make the chocolate shiny and make it stick to the chilled peanut butter ball. Too much and the chocolate gets waxy. I like to dunk the entire ball in chocolate, then after refrigeration, go back w/a toothpick dipped in chocolate close up the tiny hole left by the toothpick from the first time around of dipping. It is a little more work, but makes them so much prettier. ***Also the quality of the ingredients matter. If you are using for gifts, it is best to splurge and use real butter, good quality chocolate and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
super yummy. I like these much better than the cheater buckeyes my family makes. They just mix peanut butter and vanilla icing for the middle. I think the middle of these are so much more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These turned out great! I won a baking contest at work with this recipe. Thanks for the free lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdstarcz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States