Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
OMG SUB ALMOND BUTTER FOR PEANUT BUTTER! The butter version is very delicious, but the almond butter version is definitely the favorite. It is so freakin' good! I make a vegan version substituting Earth Balance for butter and using an organic palm oil shortening. This recipe is also naturally gluten free (so rare to find a vegan and gluten free dessert that is SO GOOD). I also added a little bit of sea salt to the almond butter mixture. Genius recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Too dry at first, had to add more peanut butter and butter. However, after that they were great. Really easy to make, best when kept in the fridge. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Oh my gosh. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
only use 3 cups powdered sugar...keep hands wet to keep balls from sticking. Used Ghiradelli chocolate and did not use paraffin (used mixture of dark and milk chocolate). turned out great. Would be good with all dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was my first attempt at making buckeyes, they turned out great. I bought chunky ( smart balance) peanut butter by mistake but was very pleased with the results. The simi- sweet chocolate was a nice contrast to the sweetness of the peanut butter and the chunks of peanuts gave it more interest. Will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I just made this recipe. I doubled the ingredients and used 25 ounces of sifted confectionary sugar. I made 135 buckeyes. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and they taste delicious! A few tips that I have found that make it easier are; insert the toothpicks before placing in the freezer. If you leave them in the freezer longer than 30 minutes the toothpicks DO NOT go in, resulting in broken toothpicks and frustration :) Also there is absolutely no need to mix ingredients with your hands. Although it may work for some, I'm all about clean and quick. I use the small pampered chef scoop, which gives you the perfect bite sized buckeyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used this recipe several years ago, and have had rave reviews! The first time I made them too big, but the men in my family love that, because they are "man-sized"...I make some in different sizes each year, so I need to melt more chocolate. This year I am adding some rice crispies also. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These are little balls of heaven! I do modify it just a bit but feel that they would be great regardless. I use unsalted butter as I like to decorate the top with drizzled chocolate and coarse sea salt they look really elegant that way. I also use about 3 cups of the sugar and about 1 3/4 cup of peanut butter. I think that they hold together better that way. Lastly I add 3 cups of crisped rice cereal because I like the texture that it adds. The end result is deeelisssshh!!! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsmiley1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States