Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've made several versions of buckeyes before, and this was my least favorite. It just wasn't very peanut buttery. Too much powdered sugar and butter, too little peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
The Buckeyes are entirely too sweet. The peanuts butter flavor is overshadowed with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My husband took these to work and they were a HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Came out just like the picture. We didn't think they were too sweet, and regarding the moisture: they were crumbly when we began balling but softened up as we worked them. Great holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I just made these and they are pretty easy and very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflyte
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I just made these wonderful Buckeyes and I followed the recipe along with a few of the suggestions in the reviews. Having said that, let me tell you what I found. 4 cups of sugar is WAAAAY too much for this recipe! I used 3 cups as per review suggestions and it was perfect. I also melted the chocolate chips in the microwave (as I always do) but I added 1 tablespoon of shortening to keep it smooth and flowing. This recipe worked out great for me with only a couple of minor adjustments. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe! Not too sweet like some other buckeye recipes I've tried. Be sure to sift the powdered sugar first. I also creamed the butter and peanut butter well before adding the powdered sugar. I like to make my peanut butter balls small (3/4"); then I freeze them for about 20 minutes before dipping them. This makes them much easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach Shores, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommy2four
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good. I would reduce powdered sugar a little just to enhance the peanut butter flavor. Another idea is after dipping balls in chocolate (while chocolate is hot) have some roasted crushed pecans ready and sprinkle some of those on top of the chocolate. A little extra crunch and it can hide imperfections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've been making buckeyes since I was a kid. I now use organic coconut oil instead of shortening. I also pat out the peanut butter mix and cut into the appropriate number of pieces (5 rows of 12) and roll them. It takes less than 10 minutes to cut and roll them all. Now if they would just chill faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States