Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I used almond bark as the chocolate and did not use the shortening. I had no complaints as I used these for Christmas gifts. This made plenty of buckeyes, I ended up giving half to a friend to use as gifts. It was very good. Easy to make. I'm sure I will use again in the future. The almond bark hardened quickly. It was not as soft as using something like regular chocolate chips, but was more conveninet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrian784

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
BEST ever!! They taste even better than the ones at the restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is so good I decided to make buckeyes as gifts for my exteded family this year. I did not shift my powered sugar so I had to cut it to 3 cups. I also creamed the butter, peanut butter and vanilla together before adding the sugar. That seemed to make them smoother. I rolled the buckeyes into about 1" balls, which gave me about 4 dozen, so I had to use 1 1/2 times the chocolate mixture to cover them. All in all a very easy recipe that I know will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were good, but there is too much shortening in the chocolate. It made the buckeyes tacky to the touch unless they were kept in the refrigerator. I would use half the shortening (or maybe even none at all) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just like my mom used to make them. These were a hit at our Christmas gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious. My husband is from Ohio and these are a tradition in his family. As others have stated, the peanut butter/sugar mixture is rather crumbly and hard to roll into balls, but I rectified this by adding a bit more peanut butter. Next time I use this recipe I will try just adding less powdered sugar. Also as others have stated, this recipe is a little labor intensive, but they are so good it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Garden, Florida, USA
Living In: Montverde, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superstepmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I like a many others found that the mixture ended up being very crumbly and difficult to roll and dip. Freezing them before dipping them in chocolate really helped! I also wished that there was more of the peanut butter flavor. Maybe I should have used less sugar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were really good, but so rich... Next time I make these I will make them smaller so that they are less intimidating. "Golf Ball" size is a bit much ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took the advice of others and only used 2 cups of powder sugar. I also used almond bark to dip in. They turned out GREAT, I now have to make more the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hookembradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States