Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have made these types of treats since I was a kid. This recipe is different than the one I always used because it calls for more sugar and butter. I was a little concerned because the consistency was so different when rolling into balls, but I think I have found a new recipe because these were just decadent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I loved them!!!! Soooooo good!!! And soooooo easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Yum. Too good if you ask me. We almost ate the whole first batch ourselves. We almost didn't have enough for the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madmoose123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
OMG are they ever addicting! Family favorite here....followed recipes exactly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These came out pretty good, but even after only adding 3 cups sugar and adding in more peanut butter, the dough was a little crumbly. I was able to roll them up okay though. I put them in the freezer for about an hour, then dipped them in the chocolate, completely covering them, like truffles, instead of having the top show. The flavor is pretty good, but I almost think it needs a little more sugar, but if I would have added more I don't think they would have rolled up nicely. I might make again and play around with the recipe some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very delicious buckeye balls. Easy to make too! The only problem i had was that I didn't realize the recipe called for sifted confectioners sugar. I added extra peanut butter to make up for the dryness, and they turned out great except that occassionally I find small clumps of the sugar in the peanut butter. Next time I make them they will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misszizka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I would NOT recommend making these into bars as a reviewer suggested. I did and they were extremely difficult to get out of the glass pan. If the bars aren’t really cold, they fall apart. Even when you serve them, you can’t keep them that cold and they become messy to eat. The chocolate shell around the peanut butter ball helps hold it together and is easier to serve. If you do try to make these into bars, a 9 x 9 pan is way too small for a double batch. Great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
did no one else have trouble getting the chocolate to melt? i tried 3x and it didn't work. other friends told me i have to add parafin wax to melt the chocolate. No buckeyes for me this year :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We have the nut allergy in our house, so I've learned to tweek many recipes, this being one. I used Sunbutter in place of the peanutbutter. I used 2 tsp of vanilla. I also used all 4 cups of confectioners sugar as directed. I read many reviews and they almost all said that was too much and made the mix much too dry. Knowing that Sunbutter was much thinner than peanutbutter, I was confident that 4 cups would be perfect, but still mixed in the first three, then added the last cup. After rolling the balls and placing them on wax paper, I put them in the freezer for more then an hour to assure they were chilled. I melted an entire bag of Nestle milk chocolate chips, no butter and dipped completely. I then drizzled with butterscotch chips. They taste delish and look beautiful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So easy to make! Finally, my favorite Christmastime treat made available anytime! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelVoice23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States