Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The only substitution I made on these was to use 14 oz. of chocolate melts instead of the chips and shortening but that did not yield enough chocolate to cover the peanut butter balls. I found that by freezing the peanut butter balls they were easier to stab with toothpicks, dip and place on the sheet. I used the back of a spoon, sprayed with cooking spray to eliminate the toothpick hole. Really cute and very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Made extra and kept them in the freezer. But them in everything from cupcakes to cookies and brownies! (And I ate the leftovers out of the bowl, lol.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I think these are 5 stars the way that I made them. I added 3/4 teaspoon of maple extract, like another recipe on here that I could not find again for some reason. I used natural peanut butter, and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These were really good. Since I love Peanut Butter I decreased the powder sugar to 3 cups like someone else suggested and they were fantastic. My BF loved them and he is not a big fan of sweets. Making a double batch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
So yummy! I used the 3 cups of confectioners sugar unsifted. I also sprinkled a little course sea salt on the chocolate coating of the buckeyes before putting them into the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julesreese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My entire family absolutely loved these. We always leave some in the fridge and some in the freezer. They are a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishy44
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I shaped these like footballs for Super Bowl... Everyone Loved them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas and many family members liked it. I had made Buckeyes the year before, using a method and ingredients I recall using when I made them as a child, but I thought I would try someone else's recipe this time. This recipe seemed more "professional" and, while it was still good, the recipe I used the year prior seemed better to me and my family members. I don't recall what I did differently, though I know I didn't use shortening. The only thing that really tasted different was the chocolate. Maybe it was the shortening that changed the taste, I'm really not sure. I can't quite put my finger on it, to be honest. I think this recipe will be good for people wanting to try it for the first time. People did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Needs less sugar, cannot taste the peanut butter otherwise ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Can we say REESES!!! BEWARE!! VERY RICH AND ADDICTING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States