Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was my first attempt at making buckeyes, they turned out great. I bought chunky ( smart balance) peanut butter by mistake but was very pleased with the results. The simi- sweet chocolate was a nice contrast to the sweetness of the peanut butter and the chunks of peanuts gave it more interest. Will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I just made this recipe. I doubled the ingredients and used 25 ounces of sifted confectionary sugar. I made 135 buckeyes. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and they taste delicious! A few tips that I have found that make it easier are; insert the toothpicks before placing in the freezer. If you leave them in the freezer longer than 30 minutes the toothpicks DO NOT go in, resulting in broken toothpicks and frustration :) Also there is absolutely no need to mix ingredients with your hands. Although it may work for some, I'm all about clean and quick. I use the small pampered chef scoop, which gives you the perfect bite sized buckeyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used this recipe several years ago, and have had rave reviews! The first time I made them too big, but the men in my family love that, because they are "man-sized"...I make some in different sizes each year, so I need to melt more chocolate. This year I am adding some rice crispies also. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These are little balls of heaven! I do modify it just a bit but feel that they would be great regardless. I use unsalted butter as I like to decorate the top with drizzled chocolate and coarse sea salt they look really elegant that way. I also use about 3 cups of the sugar and about 1 3/4 cup of peanut butter. I think that they hold together better that way. Lastly I add 3 cups of crisped rice cereal because I like the texture that it adds. The end result is deeelisssshh!!! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegsmiley1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I used this recipe but pressed the whole peanut butter mixture into a 9x13" pan. Melted the chocolate and spread it on top. Less mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just made these for the first time and used this recipe. They turned out SO well! I did follow the instructions and used about four cups powdered sugar, but I did sift it first. While I was rolling out the balls I felt like and more sugar and the mix would've been too crumbly so I thought maybe next time I might use a little less but when they were finished and we tried them, they were PERFECT!!! I did find that I had to double the amount of chocolate to have enough. Probably 1.5 times the chocolate would've been enough. I will definitely use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
"THIS IS AWESOME" TIP- I used a hobart mixer with the dough hook attachment. I put the four cups of sifted confectioner sugar in first,followed by Peanut butter,butter and vanilla. Turned mixer on one then slowly progressed to higher speeds scrapping sides of bowl while mixing, stopping once to mix in sugar in bottom of the bowl.This works really well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious!! An so easy!! Making them for Christmas this year so glad I chose this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made a batch of these last night and they are excellent (and I don't care for peanut butter!) - I, too, cut the powdered sugar to 3 c. and it was perfect - chilled them in fridge for about 45 minutes before coating - perfect! Husband has requested another batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States