Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just like my mom used to make them. These were a hit at our Christmas gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Delicious. My husband is from Ohio and these are a tradition in his family. As others have stated, the peanut butter/sugar mixture is rather crumbly and hard to roll into balls, but I rectified this by adding a bit more peanut butter. Next time I use this recipe I will try just adding less powdered sugar. Also as others have stated, this recipe is a little labor intensive, but they are so good it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Garden, Florida, USA
Living In: Montverde, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Haff Muchnok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I like a many others found that the mixture ended up being very crumbly and difficult to roll and dip. Freezing them before dipping them in chocolate really helped! I also wished that there was more of the peanut butter flavor. Maybe I should have used less sugar....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were really good, but so rich... Next time I make these I will make them smaller so that they are less intimidating. "Golf Ball" size is a bit much ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I took the advice of others and only used 2 cups of powder sugar. I also used almond bark to dip in. They turned out GREAT, I now have to make more the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hookembradford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
They were very crumbly when I tried to dip them in chocolate. I think I would use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Michigan, USA
Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I think this recipe is good, but it was more work than I had anticipated. Definitely make the balls on the small side and work the dough by hand. I have a commercial mixer and it was too soft even after chilling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Only added 3 cups powdered sugar, came out beautifully! I think almost half a dozen were eaten before I even got to dip them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Delicious! I ended up only using 3 cups of (non-sifted) powdered sugar....and added a tad more peanut butter. I did use 1-1/2 c. chocolate chips. Definite crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States