Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I had never heard of these before, but wanted to give them a try.....glad I did!! They were so good, I followed recipe exactly and then after dipping in chocolate, I rolled half of them in toasted pecans, and some in chopped peanuts. Both were a big hit! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
A little time consuming, but worth it. Be sure to let the peanut butter balls chill before dipping or you will have a big mess. Gave these as Christmas gifts and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So yummy! I used skewers to to dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
What a great recipe. I have found ways to make this an easier method. I start with the PB mix in the stand mixer and add the butter and vanilla until it's all creamed, then start adding the sugar. I go until it's starting to get hard to mix, then I use my hands to finish. I definitely use 3 and a 1/2, sometimes not quite 4 cups. You need to get used to what the proper amount feels like, rather than measuring it all out. It should feel like stiff play-doh that doesn't crumble. I usually work with the mix divided in half to make my balls, so if I do add too much sugar I can take from the other mix still waiting to be made into balls. Then I freeze the balls on cutting boards covered in wax paper. It's important to get everything flat, which will make things much easier. Then I mix 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips and 1/4 bar of Gulf Wax, melted. I dip all the balls in the chocolate with tooth picks and return to the freezer. After I make sure to smooth over the toothpick holes so they look like real buckeyes. These are amazing! They are requested every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Mine made more than 5 dozen which was nice and they were so easy to make. Maybe I made them too small but I think they were the perfect ratio of pb to chocolate. So easy and so yummy. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made these for the holidays and the turned out great!! I used a whipped peanut butter which I think made the mixture easier to handle. Will be making again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I used almond bark as the chocolate and did not use the shortening. I had no complaints as I used these for Christmas gifts. This made plenty of buckeyes, I ended up giving half to a friend to use as gifts. It was very good. Easy to make. I'm sure I will use again in the future. The almond bark hardened quickly. It was not as soft as using something like regular chocolate chips, but was more conveninet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrian784

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
BEST ever!! They taste even better than the ones at the restaurant!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is so good I decided to make buckeyes as gifts for my exteded family this year. I did not shift my powered sugar so I had to cut it to 3 cups. I also creamed the butter, peanut butter and vanilla together before adding the sugar. That seemed to make them smoother. I rolled the buckeyes into about 1" balls, which gave me about 4 dozen, so I had to use 1 1/2 times the chocolate mixture to cover them. All in all a very easy recipe that I know will become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States