Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the first review I have aver posted on this site. These were so easy to make and so yummy!! Even my 3 yr. old helped. I made them as stated the first time and they were great. I do agree that more chocolate is needed to coat all the balls. Second time I upped the peanut butter to 2 cups and then they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
OK I have not made them yet, but this coming weekend I plan on making them and doing what I do best..!! Be creative and unique like always.. I plan on instead of using the toothpick, I'll use pretzel sticks and coat them with the chocolate..!! At the tip of the pretzel will be clear and then chocolate all the way down.. not only that, I may just use white chocolate to dip them in.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Buckeyes are amazing. This recipe needs tweaks to make amazing buckeyes, which is why I've docked a star. First, I cut the powdered sugar from 4 cups to 2 1/2 cups. I honestly think these would be inedibly sweet with four cups. Second, if the peanut butter mixture in your buckeyes are typically too soft try a "natural" peanut butter. They are thicker and less creamy (even when using the "creamy" variety). For years my buckeyes had to be kept in the fridge to be stacked or they would smush down the lower layer. Switching to a natural peanut butter solved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made these today, tasted great. Made a few alterations... I added 3 cups non-sifted powdered sugar and a whole 18oz container of Jiffy creamy peanut butter. If you use the 1 1/2 cup of peanut butter then don't use all the sugar it will make the mix to dry and it will crumble. I also use Almond Bark (for all my chocolate coverings)instead of morsels. Melts down great and has a nice sheen when dry. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were so delicious! I sifted the sugar and did as other reviewers mixing in a little at a time, using my hands to achieve the right consistency. I used natural peanut butter and used less confectioners sugar. Also used mini chips melting in microwave, stirring every 30 seconds. Served them in candy liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These candies really take me back to my mothers kitchen at Christmas time. I lessened the powdered sugar to make it taste more peanutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I added an extra 1/2 cup of peanut butter. I also wanted to dip them like cake pops so I melted a bag of chocolate chips (11.5 oz) with 2 tablespoons of shortening at 30 second intervals in the microwave on high. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These couldn't be easier to make! I made a batch last night, we ate one each, and put the rest in the freezer for Christmas. These taste almost as good as a Reese's peanut butter cup! I'll have to say that this is one of the few recipes that I followed and didn't deviate from. It's absolutely perfect as written...5 stars from our RV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed it exactlly. Only needed 3 c sugar. These are better then reeses cups. I took the same recipe and added mini choc chips at end. Press mixture into lined swallow pan. chill and cut into small sqares. dip each sq into choc. place on wax paper to harden. you might need more choc. Only use 1tbl of shortening. makes choc thicker. These make the best pb, choco chip melt aways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States