Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was super easy to put together and had excellent flavor. The only draw back was dipping the peanut butter balls in the chocolate, they were too soft, even after hours of refridgeration. I finally put the balls in the freezer over night, then worked quickly to dip them into the chocolate. That was much less frustrating and they looked beautiful when I was done (plus tasted excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Another Buckeye (from Ohio) with a tip... if you have a local cake and candy store, go by melting chocolate for candy such as Merken's chocolate instead of using chocolate chips. It is creamier and will help with the dipping process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I thought 4 lbs of peanut butter and 3and 1/2 lbs of confectioners sugar was a bit much so I halved the recipe and still got over 160 buckeyes. The dough was not dry enough and difficult to handle. It had to be frozen, rolled into balls and refrozen to coat the bals with the chocolate. Then I could only do 10 at a time because the dough became soft again. Thumbs down on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great recipe - however, I just let the butter soften VERY well instead of melting it. Also, if you 1/3 bar of paraffin instead of shortening to the chocolate while melting, the coating turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Everyone loved this recipe. We added Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal to lighten the recipe, and add some additional texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ogg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
this is a great recipe. to make the dipping part easier, i just microwaved the chocolate and shortening in a microwave safe bowl for 2 minutes. kids- and adults- love to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Maybe this worked for some of you, but it's the first time I've made these. The quantity was ridiculous- for an army. I used a double boiler (homemade)the chocolate never got thin enough, the peanut butter balls wouldn't hold together and use a toothpick? Huh, maybe if they were frozen instead of refrigerated. To the chocolate I added more butter, then some water, made about three dozen, threw some undipped ones away, threw the chocolate away, froze the rest of the 200 or so balls and might try some other kind of chocolate dipping sauce, or the dogs will have peanut butter treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
First off, for all you people complaing about the quantity, you can adjust the quantity. Secondly, I thought these were great and easy. My boyfriend LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
wow, these are so good. i made half of what the recipe called for and still ended up with over 90 buckeyes. it was my first time making them and they were very easy to make, i used a little bit more butter than what called for and they turned out great. recommened to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
These were a big hit in my holiday gift trays but the recipe sure did make a LOT of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States