Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Great recipe - however, I just let the butter soften VERY well instead of melting it. Also, if you 1/3 bar of paraffin instead of shortening to the chocolate while melting, the coating turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Another Buckeye (from Ohio) with a tip... if you have a local cake and candy store, go by melting chocolate for candy such as Merken's chocolate instead of using chocolate chips. It is creamier and will help with the dipping process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was super easy to put together and had excellent flavor. The only draw back was dipping the peanut butter balls in the chocolate, they were too soft, even after hours of refridgeration. I finally put the balls in the freezer over night, then worked quickly to dip them into the chocolate. That was much less frustrating and they looked beautiful when I was done (plus tasted excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
OPPS!! I "accidentally" tripled the recipe. Even after eating the 4th dozen they were still WONDERFUL !!!!!!!!!!! A Big Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
These were a big hit in my holiday gift trays but the recipe sure did make a LOT of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
wow, these are so good. i made half of what the recipe called for and still ended up with over 90 buckeyes. it was my first time making them and they were very easy to make, i used a little bit more butter than what called for and they turned out great. recommened to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
These were delicious, but very hard to work with. Even freezing the peanut butter mixture, it would melt in your hands in no time. So, I spread some of the chocolate mixture in a 9x9 casserole dish, froze it, then spread the peanut butter mixture and then topped it with the remaining chocolate mixture. Refrigerated for a couple of hours then cut into bite size pieces. Also stored them in the fridge! This worked well and was very good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
The only problem with this recipe is the quantity it makes. They are fantastic but there were so many! I ended up taking them to church, giving them away, and making gifts from them. An excellent recipe though. Will definitely make again (but half the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Quick, easy, and the lowest amount of butter I found for this taste. Don't listen to how to melt the chocolate! Melt your choc chips in a metal bowl over a low boiling pot of water (constantly stirring). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States