Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Another Buckeye (from Ohio) with a tip... if you have a local cake and candy store, go by melting chocolate for candy such as Merken's chocolate instead of using chocolate chips. It is creamier and will help with the dipping process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was super easy to put together and had excellent flavor. The only draw back was dipping the peanut butter balls in the chocolate, they were too soft, even after hours of refridgeration. I finally put the balls in the freezer over night, then worked quickly to dip them into the chocolate. That was much less frustrating and they looked beautiful when I was done (plus tasted excellent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
OPPS!! I "accidentally" tripled the recipe. Even after eating the 4th dozen they were still WONDERFUL !!!!!!!!!!! A Big Hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
These were a big hit in my holiday gift trays but the recipe sure did make a LOT of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
wow, these are so good. i made half of what the recipe called for and still ended up with over 90 buckeyes. it was my first time making them and they were very easy to make, i used a little bit more butter than what called for and they turned out great. recommened to all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
These were delicious, but very hard to work with. Even freezing the peanut butter mixture, it would melt in your hands in no time. So, I spread some of the chocolate mixture in a 9x9 casserole dish, froze it, then spread the peanut butter mixture and then topped it with the remaining chocolate mixture. Refrigerated for a couple of hours then cut into bite size pieces. Also stored them in the fridge! This worked well and was very good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
The only problem with this recipe is the quantity it makes. They are fantastic but there were so many! I ended up taking them to church, giving them away, and making gifts from them. An excellent recipe though. Will definitely make again (but half the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Quick, easy, and the lowest amount of butter I found for this taste. Don't listen to how to melt the chocolate! Melt your choc chips in a metal bowl over a low boiling pot of water (constantly stirring). Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
Wonderful. I made mine dime size which worked well. I also used Gulf Brand parafin wax - seems to work better than shorting. Laura Scudder's peanutbetter works better than some of the other off brand kinds. Imperial Marg (2 sticks) is what I used instead of butter, which might have helped the mixture be perfect for rolling. In some of my batch I added super crushed vanilla wafers - made it not so strong for those that like a lighter taste of peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States