Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Honestly, the method for dipping in chocolate is awkward. I was going to give them to friends as part of my holiday cookie bake, but I passed. Other than the look, the balls are pretty good. I made them with a mix of walnut and cashew butter instead of peanut. Next time definitely will add walnut liquor in the mix to improve flavor. In terms of richness and smoothness they were delicious. I mentioned briefly about the dipping in the chocolate with a toothpick being awkward. Why not simply dunk them all in the chocolate? Also, make the balls smaller - about the size of a cherry. Any bigger makes it a two-bite deal, and then the melting chocolate makes a mess in your fingers. I made some smaller and bigger, and trying to eat a bigger one at once was way too...buttery. Still, I'd make those again with the few modifications listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stara Zagora, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Super Easy! Buckeyes themselves are a bit time consuming, but overall it's an easy recipe and I get raves and requests for the recipe all the time! I gave out small tins of these for Christmas and everyone LOVED them! Once you remove the toothpick, you can dot your CLEAN hands in water and tap each top, it'll "erase" the hole mark to make it look more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Good! Used for cookie exchange in 2008.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I make this recipe every Christmas. I love it! When the peanut butter is too soft, I find that adding extra confectiner's suger and some flour helps, along with refrigeration for a few hours. :) I usually dip the whole peanut butter ball and drizzle the top with extra choclate, white chocolate, or butterscotch to give it more of a truffle look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I just made these because they sound and look so yummy however the dough melts in my hands. I can't even roll them into balls. So I have 4lbs of P.B. sitting it the fridge. So I would NOT make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
So easy! I cut the recipe in half and took the suggestions to freeze the balls with toothpicks, first. They tend to get soft quickly if you don't. Highly recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These remind me of the ones my mother made when I was a child. When I make these everyone just indulges until they are all gone. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Thanks for the recipe! It worked great to put the toothpicks in before freezing the peanut butter balls. It made it super easy to dip into the melted chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
good but hard to handle and VERY sweet. I couldnt eat very many without being overwhelmed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieChefLaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These are great and always disappear quickly. Make sure you adjust and recalculate the serving amount because the recipe as it is makes a ton. I always cut it in half or even more. I did like others have and cut down on the sugar in mine. They were still easy to handle and plenty sweet. I always up the chocolate dip part of the recipe a bit so I have plenty and it is easy to dip them all. Plus you can use the extra chocolate dip for other things like cookies, nuts, etc. These are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States