Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Made 72 balls with 4 kids. Ours weren't buckeye balls, they were reindeer poos as we made them for Christmas! The kids loved it! They are sinfully good. Everyone who's tried them has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
They're not called Buckeye Balls. They are Buckeyes. They are always rated a 5 in my book. Signed, Ohio Lady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I made these over the holidays at the urging of my 7 year old niece. (She said she wanted to make them because she liked saying 'buckeye balls'!). They are great, although very sweet. They need to be mixed by hand - my Kitchenaid pro mixer couldn't handle the amount of batter and caused a mess! It takes a long time to roll them and long time to dip them. I froze them after rolling them and did not have any problems dipping them in the chocolate. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I will battle with this recipe no more! For years I have struggled and cursed every time I try to form the peanut butter mixture into balls and then again when dipping in chocolate. The ratio of peanut butter to the butter and sugar is wrong and it makes a soft, sticky mess. There are other recipes on allrecipes that call fo twice the butter and sugar which makes a very manageable mixture. These recipes also add vanilla which rounds out the flavor and cuts the "bite" (for lack of a better word) of the peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These little treats are great. I made them for a holiday party and everyone raved over them. Rolling takes a little time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I make mine with chunky peanut butter....it adds nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very good. The mushy balls that people are having problems with can be easily remedies with more powdered sugar. Funny..last yr mine were all crumbly not mushy. We use natural peanut butter with the oil at the top. I modified the recipe quantity as I only had 3 jars PB. So my recipe went something like 3 jars PB..2.5 baga powdered sugar,2/3 cup melted butter. I mix it with my hands as it is impossible to do any other way. It felt a tad dry so I added a TBS more butter..then a bit wet and added a handful of powdered sugar. I was then able to roll them into balls immediately and they are in the fridge now until dipping. It is just a balance between the sugar and the PB. Not a big deal. I think the brands of both that you use may influence to a slight degree the moisture. As I was rolling them my 3 yr old daughter at 3 balls without the chocolate and asked if these were for "everybody" I sadly told her most were going to the neighbors. I will make another batch in a few days. So simple! The modifications are endless. I put some cinnamon in my batter. You could do crunchy PB,cocoa powder with with white dipping chocolate, nuts, raisins, rice crispies, mini chocolate chips. On top sprinkles in the color of your choice, nuts, graham crackers,coconut. Again endless. It reminds me of fudge only more time consuming with the rolling. Have fun. get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 4 under 8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are delicious, and I think very easy. I froze the balls before dipping them (they are extremely soft when rolling them) - and actually prefer to eat them frozen. I added some sprinkles to make them more visually appealing for the holidays! Delicious, and I know they will not last long in my house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The quantity is large, but easily adjusted. Heck allrecipes does it for you. Freezing the balls before dipping is a must and take the time and money to go to your llocal craft store and but a dipping fork. Mine cost me under $2.00. It takes the stress out of the dipping process. My Girl Scout troop made these and gtave them to their families last Christmas. FTR, we made four batches as the recipe is written. I have a huge troop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Honestly, the method for dipping in chocolate is awkward. I was going to give them to friends as part of my holiday cookie bake, but I passed. Other than the look, the balls are pretty good. I made them with a mix of walnut and cashew butter instead of peanut. Next time definitely will add walnut liquor in the mix to improve flavor. In terms of richness and smoothness they were delicious. I mentioned briefly about the dipping in the chocolate with a toothpick being awkward. Why not simply dunk them all in the chocolate? Also, make the balls smaller - about the size of a cherry. Any bigger makes it a two-bite deal, and then the melting chocolate makes a mess in your fingers. I made some smaller and bigger, and trying to eat a bigger one at once was way too...buttery. Still, I'd make those again with the few modifications listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stara Zagora, Stara Zagora, Bulgaria
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States