Bucket Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Love this. Make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
a childhood friend's mother made something like this (w/o the meat, and with hidden valley ranch), so was very excited to find this recipe!?! have made it many times as written, to much praise from others, but thought i would review it as my husband is TDY, so i made it with a meatless soy substitute -- and it is just as good (Lightlife Smart Ground Mexican Style seasoned veggie protein crumbles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARENELLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is a delicious, fresh recipe but is HUGE even when I cut the recipe in half. You would literally need a bucket to make this as written because of all the mixing required, but when I half it, I can use a very large bowl. I use ground turkey instead of beef and add taco seasoning to it while cooking. I add a can of drained and rinsed black beans and only 1 cup of cheese (for half the recipe). I also don't think you need quite the whole bottle of Ranch, but that depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great dish. The whole family enjoyed it very much even the children were eager for seconds. Also was quick and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is great!! the only thing I did different was put the chips out separate with a little note by them to add to the salad, for a great taco taste. maryhhug is absolutely correct!! you can not make this mixed the night before. if you want to prep everything and keep the meat in a separate sealed container, the dressing in the bottle and the chips in the bag,warming up the meat slightly just before mixing it will work. you can't add meat, dressing and chips the night before without a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
You are not supposed to make this the night before!! Lettuce will turn to mush.. this is a fabulous recipe, crowd pleaser, easy and tasty. Add beans, chopped avocado, grilled chicken if beef is not available..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Made this, fairly tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is really good ! I added taco seasoning to the meat and mixed the ranch dressing, picante sauce and sour cream together. I didn't have any fresh tomotoes so I used a can of rotel tomatoes, drained. Awesome flavor !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was ok. I have had taco salads I have liked better. WIll prob. not make again. Cute to make it in a bucket though especially for an outside party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I love this recipe but I do add to it! I don't add the tortilla chips to it, I let people put fresh crispy ones on their own. I add two cans of drained kidney beans and I always brown the beef and add a packet of taco seasoning to it. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States