Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made a variation on it years ago that used only five eggs instead of six, and I prefer this one. When I made it long ago, my mother convinced me that wax paper was a good substitute for parchment paper. Not true! Now I know why I had such a hard time peeling the paper from the cake all those years ago. The parchment paper is a MUST. I sprayed it with cooking spray and had no trouble at all in removing it from the cake. When I made the filling, I waited to add the cocoa. I used around half of the filling inside the roll, and then I added cocoa to what remained and spread it over the roll. I then ran fork-tines through it to make it look a bit like bark. Also, when I cut one of the ends off of the log, I then attached it to the side of the log to make it look like a branch. When it was "frosted" with the chocolate whipped cream, it looked perfect. Putting the whipped cream on the outside was an extremely simple step and made the Buche de Noel look that much more special. It was absolutely DELICIOUS! It is IMPORTANT to remember to whip those eggs for a long time. Remember that you can't have ANY egg yolks mixed in with your egg whites when you first whip them, otherwise they'll never whip up as light and fluffy as you need them to be. It also helps to have the eggs at room temperature so that they whip up more easily. We made two... one for my son's French class and one for us. They were both absolutely beautiful and were big hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Best Buche de Noel recipe I have ever tasted or made. The cake is light and tasty and the mousse like filling is very good. I added more sugar to the filling though. I also added a chocolate frosting that I have put on my Buche de Noels in the past that was very chocolatey and made it even more tasty and beautiful. These things are usually prettier than they are tasty, but this one was the exception. I only wish I would have sprayed the parchment paper, but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Just finished making this cake about an hour ago. It turned out amazing! Appreciate the suggestions about beating the eggs thoroughly and sprinkling lots of confectioners' sugar. In my case, I had no parchment paper but non-stick cooking spray worked great. The only critique I have is the 'cake' itself turned out a bit salty. I'm not sure if it's because I didn't mix it well enough. Other than that, it tastes amazing! Highly suggest this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this for a Christmas dessert because I have a daughter who is gluten free. It was delicious but took too much time for me. I like something easy, but my daughter loved it. I would make it again if she wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe for a traditional holiday dessert that's sure to impress. Try it--you'll surprise yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
WOW!!! Thank you so much for leading me to Kitchen Success with a jelly-roll cake!!! I have tried for years unsuccessfully and this time it actually came out perfect!!! I will hold on to this recipe as my base and have fun experimenting with new flavors and fillings! Thank you so much--it was a Christmas Kitchen Miracle!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was a great "first timer" recipe. I have never made this before and felt that it was pretty easy. There is no recipe for the "icing" or the Meringue Mushrooms so I had to go on a search for that, but honestly this was a very light and yummy dessert. I omitted the cocoa from the whipped cream and left it subtly sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klove radio
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe, very chocolatey cake. Followed the recipe exactly, pretty easy to prepare. And very close to the "real" buche de noel in France. Will definitely make this recipe again... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was incredibly good. Could some one tell me if I could use round cake pans to make this a year round confection. My family is in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious and quite easy to make. I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. It takes like a mousse cake. I took another reviewers advice and beat the hell out of the yolks-until it looked liked melted butter. I used the whipped cream for filling and had plenty to frost the cake. I decorated with fresh cranberries and mint leaves to resemble holly. Turned out delicious and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States