Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by katzalee
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious and a total hit at our Christmas party. Love that it's gluten free too. Decided to make a chocolate frosting to top it off and used coconut to add more snow around on the ground.Glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I am in high school and I made this for my French Class Christmas party. I did it on a Thursday night, with limited time. We heard many reviews saying it was very hard to make and the cake would crack or break. However I found that if I did not rush anything, I turned out perfectly, except for one small crack in the side, which was only about an inch long. We ate a slice to taste test it, and my family loved it and its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammy456

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is my all time favorite gluten free dessert. I almost cried the first time I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
followed all directions AND some tips from others- cake wound up breaking when rolling it but i managed to salvage it. also the frosting tastes exactly like cocoa powder which is very unappealing.... i really wanted a creamy chocolatey flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Bakeries charge a fortune for these cakes so this was my motivation. I was amazed at how easy this was to make. A KitchenAid mixer is a 'must have' to make short work of this cake. I followed the recipe exactly and used the filling as the frosting also. I doubled the recipe and made a single log with multiple branches. Absolutely delicious and a big hit at the holiday party. Make sure to make the Meringue Mushrooms on allrecipes as the perfect garnish. (They are fun to make and much easier than I expected.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Putzy but well-worth it. This was a wonderfully light dessert following our heavy Christmas meal. I used a little bit bigger pan than the recipe suggested so I adjusted the baking time a bit, but it still turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEAUXJEAUX
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I would be lying if I said I didn't follow any other reviewers' tips. I beat the yolks 5-6 min on my Kitchenaid's highest speed, sprayed parchment paper with Pam, cooled the cake 10 minutes before turning out onto powered Silpat, cut off one end to make a stump, iced the outside with the cream and used a fork to make log marks, toasted some coconut to scatter around as snow covered dirt; meant to brush the cake with cream de cocoa but forgot, darnit. Anyway, with all these tips and a few of my own (cut a slice off both ends to get rid of the crusty edges and for a nice, smooth, clean look whether or not you want a stump; there is plenty of whipped cream to spread on the cake as well as to ice it with–I even had some left over; I did not bring eggs to room temp as I figured beating those yolks on high speed would warm them up fast enough and I've always heard you need cold whites to make a good cream; I always sift my powdered sugar and cocoa first before adding to a recipe), I could not believe how awesome this cake turned out my first go 'round. Directions (along with tips) were easy to follow and I didn't find it terribly time consuming or taxing on my bowls. Whip whites in large bowl as you have to add the yolks later. Be sure to parchment paper the whole pan as the cake batter does fill the darned thing all the way up to the top. I had just cut a piece for the bottom like a stoop. But I really sprayed everything with Pam so it turned out okay. Check out my pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer W.
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great Recipe! glad I read all the reviews and tips. My tip would be that if you do not want cake crumbs stuck to your dish towels, cover them front and back with press n' seal (sticky side against the towel of course). Worked out great for me and no cake crumbs stuck to my towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe is simple and easy to follow. It makes a delicious and beautiful Yule log cake. I frosted mine with chocolate buttercream frosting and textured the frosting by running a fork down the sides to give it the look of bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I did not spray the parchment paper at all but still be able to take the "cake" out. the texture is very smooth and light but very rich and chocolaty. I made it some days ago for Christmas and my bf want to have it again for our New Years' Eve party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States