Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Nice! I didn't have heavy cream so I used all buttercream frosting which made it a little heavy. I made sure to beat the egg yolks until pale which was 5 minutes. Next time I'll spray the parchment with cooking spray as the cake did stick a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
FAIL PROOF ... but Wow was it LABOR INTENSIVE!!!! I think when decorating I went overboard and simpler is better. You also need a really nice platter which I didn't have. Haven't eaten it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Although it tastes great ( very rich), it was very labor intensive, especially if you only have a hand mixer. I had to do the egg white mixer twice because I couldn't get the consistency right and ended up adding 3/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar. The cake was veryyy thin, but at least the whole cake is covered in frosting so it doesn't matter if there are cracks. I also needed to make 2 of the frostings because one wasn't enough to fill the cake and ice the top. Although tasty, not sure if I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe - intense to make the first time but if you follow instructions correctly, it turns out beautifully. My family is French/French canadian and my grandmother always made the buche. She is too old now and so I took on the job. This isn't the same as what she made but my family loved the new cake. Thanks for the updated version of an old tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greytmommy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe was great and super easy to do! I made a few changes to fit our tastes. We did vanilla whipped cream for the center instead of chocolate. And to frost the outside I did a dark chocolate ganache. I used a fork to make lines in the chocolate to make it look like bark, put it on a bed of green colored coconut (grass) and topped it with sifted powdered sugar for snow. It was so pretty, and the ganache was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this for a Christmas brunch and, oh, my goodness, was it a hit! The recipe is easy to follow and turned out perfectly. I did follow the suggestion to frost the outside with buttercream icing. Thank you Tyra; this is a real winner! Peggy2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Read the reviews and took the suggestions and this was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raven4793
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have just finished making this recipe, and to say it was a disaster is an understatement. This was my first try at making a cake from scratch I admit, but I've made much harder things than a cake. Considering the amount of mess just prepping I was hoping this would be a delicious cake, but instead I have a pile of chocolate frosting with some cake scattered throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe. I made a variation on it years ago that used only five eggs instead of six, and I prefer this one. When I made it long ago, my mother convinced me that wax paper was a good substitute for parchment paper. Not true! Now I know why I had such a hard time peeling the paper from the cake all those years ago. The parchment paper is a MUST. I sprayed it with cooking spray and had no trouble at all in removing it from the cake. When I made the filling, I waited to add the cocoa. I used around half of the filling inside the roll, and then I added cocoa to what remained and spread it over the roll. I then ran fork-tines through it to make it look a bit like bark. Also, when I cut one of the ends off of the log, I then attached it to the side of the log to make it look like a branch. When it was "frosted" with the chocolate whipped cream, it looked perfect. Putting the whipped cream on the outside was an extremely simple step and made the Buche de Noel look that much more special. It was absolutely DELICIOUS! It is IMPORTANT to remember to whip those eggs for a long time. Remember that you can't have ANY egg yolks mixed in with your egg whites when you first whip them, otherwise they'll never whip up as light and fluffy as you need them to be. It also helps to have the eggs at room temperature so that they whip up more easily. We made two... one for my son's French class and one for us. They were both absolutely beautiful and were big hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Best Buche de Noel recipe I have ever tasted or made. The cake is light and tasty and the mousse like filling is very good. I added more sugar to the filling though. I also added a chocolate frosting that I have put on my Buche de Noels in the past that was very chocolatey and made it even more tasty and beautiful. These things are usually prettier than they are tasty, but this one was the exception. I only wish I would have sprayed the parchment paper, but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States