Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was wonderful! Not as difficult as it looks. I the extra whip cream to do the outside and decorated with slivered almonds, powdered sugar and shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Was so excited to try this out as it looked so cute and fun. My husband and I found this extremely time consuming. In the end it wasn't worth all the effort sadly. The taste was awful, was like eating cocoa powder. Cake was so thin it was really difficult to roll without breaking. Lastly when it was all said it done it was so much tinier then I imagined. It was a good thing it wasn't a hit at our Christmas party or their wouldn't have been enough for everyone. Maybe someday I'll try again and make my own recipe to improve the taste and size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was really good! I made it for the first time just today and it tastes wonderful! Light and fluffy despite being flour less. My weary Mom tried it after a few of my cooking disasters and her mouth dropped because it was so good. I am so happy to have found a gluten free recipe like this! The only alteration I made was I added an extra half cup confectionary sugar to the frosting. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was amazing! Definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I make this about every other Christmas so family and friends think it's too hard to do yearly! It's actually quite easy although time-consuming. I forgot to grease the paper before pouring in the batter. Won't do that again! Picking off paper very labor intensive. I always make a "stump" on the top and use powdered sugar as "snow." Icing seems like overkill although my family chocoholics LOVE it. I also rob my holly bushes of a few leaves and berries for extra frou-frou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I only used the filling part as we made a genoise cake for the sponge as it is easier then this recipe, my 11 year old son was making it for Christmas dinner. We used 3 cups of whipping cream to fill and frost the cake, I also added 3 envelopes of Dr Oetker's Whip It to stabilize the whipping cream. We cut one end off to make a knot and used a fork to make bark like surface, decorated with mushroom cookies and silk holly and berries from the dollar store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by katzalee
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious and a total hit at our Christmas party. Love that it's gluten free too. Decided to make a chocolate frosting to top it off and used coconut to add more snow around on the ground.Glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I am in high school and I made this for my French Class Christmas party. I did it on a Thursday night, with limited time. We heard many reviews saying it was very hard to make and the cake would crack or break. However I found that if I did not rush anything, I turned out perfectly, except for one small crack in the side, which was only about an inch long. We ate a slice to taste test it, and my family loved it and its a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammy456

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is my all time favorite gluten free dessert. I almost cried the first time I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
followed all directions AND some tips from others- cake wound up breaking when rolling it but i managed to salvage it. also the frosting tastes exactly like cocoa powder which is very unappealing.... i really wanted a creamy chocolatey flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Bakeries charge a fortune for these cakes so this was my motivation. I was amazed at how easy this was to make. A KitchenAid mixer is a 'must have' to make short work of this cake. I followed the recipe exactly and used the filling as the frosting also. I doubled the recipe and made a single log with multiple branches. Absolutely delicious and a big hit at the holiday party. Make sure to make the Meringue Mushrooms on allrecipes as the perfect garnish. (They are fun to make and much easier than I expected.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States