Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've always wanted to make this but was a little intimidated by it. I had to take a dessert to our Mary Kay Christmas Party, so I decided to take the bull by the horns and do it. It took a little while to put it all together, but it turned out wonderful and I received many compliments on it. At the end of the party, there wasn't any left to take home. I won't hesitate to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This turned out beautifully,considering I've never made a "log cake" before. Rave reviews from everyone! However, I did make my own chocolate frosting in place of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This one is kind of a pain to make BUT so very worth the effort! Use fresh eggs, and be sure to refrigerate to keep that "eggy" taste away. We like to add more sugar to the frosting to sweeten it up a bit as it can be quite powerfully cocoa tasting. Decorating this cake is a fun holiday tradition for us. We like to dust it with confectioners sugar to make it look like snow, but don't do that until you're ready to present/serve it as it will get a bit clumpy and not as attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I have made this 3 times. Frankly, this is better than ANY other version of a Buche de Noel that I've ever tried. The cake is so delicate, and the mousse is to die for. Everyone loves this cake when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this two years ago and it was not only delicious but beautiful!!! I had forgotten where I had this recipe...so glad I found it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, it was so like and yummy tasting. The only thing that I didn't like is that the cake was so thin after you rolled it. I would have liked a thicker cake portion. So the next time that I make this I will be making 2 cakes and try rolling them together to see if that better. The one thing that I did was I iced it with a chocolate icing from a can, I won't be doing that again as it make the cake waaay to sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this for Christmas this year and the entire family loved it. My husband said it was the best dessert I had EVER made. I have to admit, however, that I was skeptical when I took it out of the oven..it seemed so thin, but it rolled up nicely. I scored it with a fork to make it look like a log. I only dusted it with powdered sugar added a few candied cherries for decoration. If you like chocolate, keep the recipe as is. It would be wonderful for anyone who has celiac disease, as it is gluten free. I know my family now expects this every year for Christmas!! Now it's Easter...and my family want "the Buche" back..now, it's "Buche de Pacques"...I omitted the cocoa powder in the filling..so it was just vanilla. Then, I made more whipped cream and frosted the whole log and decorated with peeps and jelly beans on the side. It was awesome! Lighter and not as chocolatey as the Christmas version. "Best dessert in 20 years of marriage" raved my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
i tried it, i followed the direction and the outcome is very good.it is my first time to make this kind of cake though i observed my french mother-in-law when she makes a buche de noel. i surely recommend this recipe^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejaresivy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe was fairly easy -- BUT -- I used my kitchenaid mixer on high to beat the egg yolks (5mins) & then the egg whites (3+mins), individually of course. It was simple to put it all together just sooo time consuming. Beat the eggs forever, (i only have one mixing bowl - so transfer yolk mixture, wash & beat egg whites, fold mixture together carefully to not lose any air, bake, roll, cool, fill, cool, frost, cool - refrigerate... It was definitely worth it for an added dessert at Xmas Eve dinner, but for me this recipe is going to be reserved for Xmas & possibly Easter.... any possibly upon special request. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States