Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the start of my Christmas Afternoon Tea! I was nervous about rolling up a cake but it was easy because I let it cool in the pan for 10 mins before flipping it out onto a well- covered powder sugar coated dish towel! I also followed the advice of other reviewers and sprayed the parchment liberally with non-stick spray and made sure the yolks were mixed for a full 5 minutes. For a cake filled with whipped cream it is a decadent and rich dessert, the slices I served were only 1 inch thick and that was plenty. I also used the recipe for Meringue Mushrooms on this site to decorate it. For a final touch I cut one end off at 45 degrees to make the "nub" of the log and I ran a fork through the frosting to make it look like bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This yule log was decadent! The cake itself wasn't so sweet, but when frosted with chocolate butter cream, it became very rich. The cake part cracked when I unrolled it from the towel, but no one noticed after I filled and frosted it. I halved the whipped cream portion of the recipe, but I barely had enough. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 c. whipping cream. This was so delicious, and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at a yule log, and it was a success! I had to use an 11x17 pan, so the log ended up being longer and thinner. However, it looks great! I followed the directions to a T and it turned out wonderfully. I was nervous about rolling it off onto a towel, as I had never done so before, but it turned out great. I will use this again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnyknny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca101
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at a buche de Noel, and I have to say this recipe was pretty easy. Followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. I will say there was too much filling. I didn't use nearly all of it and I still wish I had put less inside the cake. I did not use the filling as frosting either. I did a deep chocolate buttercream frosting, made some frosting holly leaves and berries, and made mushrooms out of marzipan. It really looked great if I do say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is very yummy. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to whip the dickens out of the yolks, as well as the whites, to get as much air into them as possible, and you could tell that it worked as it looked like it was going to overflow the pan as it baked! But all remained within. It did reduce to a fairly normal height as it came out of the oven. It was easy to roll. I opted to roll it along the long side instead of the short (so as to have as long a log as possible) but this only gave it a 4-5" diameter, so more or a branch. LOL But still, it was the full 15" long of my pan. I was running low on heavy cream, so modified that and simply folded it into a whipped chocolate buttercream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Amazing!!! This did not last long in our house. Came out perfect!!! Love that it is gluten/Flour free!!! Will be making this alot. Thank you for this recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
it was great! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was a really good recipe, I wish I could give it 4.5 stars instead of 4. I down graded it because it needed to be a little more clear. The cake was nice and moist and my French students loved it! Here is what you need to know: 1. Grease the pan and the paper. 2. Beat the egg yolks until they are very very pale. The egg whites should be stiff enough to stand on the spatula. 3. Make sure the cake springs in the middle not just the edges. 4. Dust with lots of powdered sugar. 5. When you roll with the towel, roll the towel inside of the cake. If you use the towel to roll the cake onto itself, it will stick and you might have issues. 6. Prepare this a day ahead. It is so much better the next day! Thank you for the recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly_Qz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've always wanted to make this but was a little intimidated by it. I had to take a dessert to our Mary Kay Christmas Party, so I decided to take the bull by the horns and do it. It took a little while to put it all together, but it turned out wonderful and I received many compliments on it. At the end of the party, there wasn't any left to take home. I won't hesitate to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This turned out beautifully,considering I've never made a "log cake" before. Rave reviews from everyone! However, I did make my own chocolate frosting in place of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States