Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cuddlebugs333
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This cake was a little extra work, but really fabulous and everyone loved it. I didn't frost mine, and I feel like it would have been too sweet if I had. I dusted the towel with confectioner's sugar (very generously) before turning the cake onto it AND dusted the cake before rolling. It kind of looked like a birch log when I finished, so I cut a piece of copy paper into narrow triangular strips, laid them across the cake and gave it an extra dusting of confectioner's sugar. I also added some extra striations with a vegetable peeler. I've uploaded the picture to share. This one might become a yearly tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Super easy recipe, and it comes out great, I've done it 2 years in a row now. But, last year I thought the chocolate whipped cream filling was too chocolatey, so I would back off the cocoa there just a bit. Also, I used Whip-It whipped cream stabilizer, and it holds up really well, even at room temp (accidentally left it on the counter all last night).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I prefer the other roll up recipes to this one. Just too rich for any of us. Maybe with a non-chocolate filling it would have been better. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was very tasty. However, unless you already have 3 "large bowls" suitable for mixing, you have some hassle with washing bowls and transferring e.g. the whipped cream mixture to a medium bowl so you can re-use the bowl for another step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used to have this back home when I was a kid, and I wanted to start this tradition again, OMG it was a hit, going to make it for many years to come, glad I spared the parchment paper...again thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Lots of ways to hide your mistakes (and I made a lot, even dropping the cake and rescuing it just before it hit the floor). Happily there was more than sufficient filling to "ice" cake. Clutch marks couldn't be seen. I added a sprig of holly with red berries. Very pretty. Guests all loved it. Four stars only because it's such a pain to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A lovely and decorative dessert. Everyone enjoyed it and my son wants it to be part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just made this for the second year in a row and it turned out spectacularly again. I change nothing about the preparation. To decorate, I save some extra mousse and ice the buche with it. I cut a section and lay it at an angle rather then try to get it to stand up. Following a previous suggestion, I score the mousse with a fork to give the appearance of a log. I use red, white and green gum drops for decor. The white ones I stick on toothpicks for the mushrooms and the green ones I flatten and cut into holly leaves. Another triumph! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was great!! I'm so excited at how well this came out. I just tried to make a buche noel with a cake mix doctor recipe and it cracked in a bunch of places and wouldn't roll, a major disappointing disaster. So I tried this one and it was perfect! No cracks looked great. I followed other suggestions, I buttered the jelly roll and parchment (but I'm sure pan is good too), made sure egg whites were very stiff (5min), and I cooled the cake about 5 min before turning out of pan but ran the knife around the edge right away. I used a sifter to dust the towel with. This recipe was great and even more gratifying after having one fail. Oh, since my family isn't into rich desserts I used plain whip cream with brandy mixed in for the filling and chocolate for the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the start of my Christmas Afternoon Tea! I was nervous about rolling up a cake but it was easy because I let it cool in the pan for 10 mins before flipping it out onto a well- covered powder sugar coated dish towel! I also followed the advice of other reviewers and sprayed the parchment liberally with non-stick spray and made sure the yolks were mixed for a full 5 minutes. For a cake filled with whipped cream it is a decadent and rich dessert, the slices I served were only 1 inch thick and that was plenty. I also used the recipe for Meringue Mushrooms on this site to decorate it. For a final touch I cut one end off at 45 degrees to make the "nub" of the log and I ran a fork through the frosting to make it look like bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States