Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The recipe is delicious and easy. Definitely grease between the parchment and the pan, and then the top of the parchment as well. The cake will fluff up higher than the edges of the pan, but then shrink as it cools. I made some extra cream (doubled recipe) and covered the outside as well, texturing it so it looked log-like. I made sure there was one meringue mushroom per person. Added a couple of sprigs of real greenery, and a dusting of cocoa. It was a huge hit. Lots of whipped cream, but no one complained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by thinkingofnextmeal
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just did a very similar recipe, except that it had a buttercream frosting. Using this, pulling tines of a fork through it after frosting and adding meringue "mushrooms" gives a bit more feel of a log. Absolutely delicious, this recipe, but won't win any awards for healthiness! Who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a nice recipe. It's easy & quick to make. The cake was light and spongy. As with other reviewers, I lightly sprayed and floured the parchment - not sure if it's necessary, but it came out clean. Other things I did that aren't exactly in the recipe: Used a 12x17 pan & it was just fine. Done in 12 minutes. Cut the end off at an angle to make a side branch (like many of the photos). Covered it in a chocolate buttercream - dragged fork tines to make it bark like. (Used recipe from C&H Powdered sugar box - super quick/easy and pretty good!) Added meringue mushroom decor (surprisingly easy - did them 2 days ahead of time) (Used Joy of Baking recipe but attached tops/bottoms with melted chocolate - looks like the underside/gills of a real mushroom and is tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this for our Christmas dinner. It turned out perfectly. I garnished it with the Meringue Mushrooms (fount that recipe here). We used to buy it from the local French patisserie for $35. Won't have to do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Nice! I didn't have heavy cream so I used all buttercream frosting which made it a little heavy. I made sure to beat the egg yolks until pale which was 5 minutes. Next time I'll spray the parchment with cooking spray as the cake did stick a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
FAIL PROOF ... but Wow was it LABOR INTENSIVE!!!! I think when decorating I went overboard and simpler is better. You also need a really nice platter which I didn't have. Haven't eaten it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Although it tastes great ( very rich), it was very labor intensive, especially if you only have a hand mixer. I had to do the egg white mixer twice because I couldn't get the consistency right and ended up adding 3/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar. The cake was veryyy thin, but at least the whole cake is covered in frosting so it doesn't matter if there are cracks. I also needed to make 2 of the frostings because one wasn't enough to fill the cake and ice the top. Although tasty, not sure if I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe - intense to make the first time but if you follow instructions correctly, it turns out beautifully. My family is French/French canadian and my grandmother always made the buche. She is too old now and so I took on the job. This isn't the same as what she made but my family loved the new cake. Thanks for the updated version of an old tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greytmommy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe was great and super easy to do! I made a few changes to fit our tastes. We did vanilla whipped cream for the center instead of chocolate. And to frost the outside I did a dark chocolate ganache. I used a fork to make lines in the chocolate to make it look like bark, put it on a bed of green colored coconut (grass) and topped it with sifted powdered sugar for snow. It was so pretty, and the ganache was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States