Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
i tried it, i followed the direction and the outcome is very good.it is my first time to make this kind of cake though i observed my french mother-in-law when she makes a buche de noel. i surely recommend this recipe^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejaresivy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe was fairly easy -- BUT -- I used my kitchenaid mixer on high to beat the egg yolks (5mins) & then the egg whites (3+mins), individually of course. It was simple to put it all together just sooo time consuming. Beat the eggs forever, (i only have one mixing bowl - so transfer yolk mixture, wash & beat egg whites, fold mixture together carefully to not lose any air, bake, roll, cool, fill, cool, frost, cool - refrigerate... It was definitely worth it for an added dessert at Xmas Eve dinner, but for me this recipe is going to be reserved for Xmas & possibly Easter.... any possibly upon special request. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Galbadores

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katelovesbaking
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this two days ago for the holidays. Incredible outcome! For anyone who has had trouble, make sure to follow all of the instructions AND the hints on the allrecipes page for this recipe. Remember, baking is a SCIENCE. There is NO FLOUR in this recipe! If you aren't getting the desired outcome, you are probably not beating the egg yolks/whites long enough. If there is no flour in something you are going to need to whip more air into the eggs to make the cake fluffy in the oven. Also make sure to let it cool a little bit before you try to roll it. The cake needs to set/solidify. Make sure to grease your pan, and make sure to use parchment paper and a towel coated in powdered sugar! Just basic hints, here, folks. If you care to see how mine turned out, click on the "Photos" and check for katelovesbaking's photo, its toward the end. :) For the mushrooms, I googled for a meringue mushroom recipe. It's very easy. I used a ziplock bag to pipe my meringue. For the green and red holly leaves/berries, my mum took gum drops and rolled them flat, and then used a knife to cut out the shapes! Good luck and have fun baking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am French and when I was young my mom always purchased a log for Christmas. Living in the US now it is difficult for me to find a pastry shop who makes it and it is usually very expensive. This recipe was so easy to follow and the result was "delicieux". My mom was ver impressed and could not believe I had made it myself. Thank you. I will recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for our dinner club Christmas Party. It took me a couple of tries to get it right, but it was a hit. I used some of the helpful hint from other folks including really whipping the egg whites (6 plus minutes on highest speed), and greasing the pan and parchment paper well. Fun cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It wasn't all that difficult and the results were outstanding! Just remember the basic whipping rules; eggs at room temp, whites without a drop of yolk or grease, yolk beaten till lemon yellow, and your cream should be ice cold. Watch that time on the cake. I pulled it out at exactly 12 mins. I frosted mine with "Chocolate Ganache" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Oh. My. Word. Richest chocolate cake I've ever had. LOVED. This is our family's new Christmas tradition. Forget pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corhen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really a great recipie, it puffed up nicely, and looks amazing, 5/5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corhen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A fabulous cake for Christmas day! I decorated it with toasted marshmallow mushrooms. Definitely delicious and memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Hmmm, I am an experienced baker and I have made this cake in years past, but this did not turn out for me. The cake was very thin and ripped and could not be used. Not sure what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States