Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by susu
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I read many of the reviews and realized that many of them did not "get it"... in England this is a way of using left overs so comments about how long to cook the cabbage or potatoes are really irrelevant. Its whatever you have so long as it includes cabbage and potatoes. I actually love it when the potato gets all sqooshed down because then it browns and gets crusty. The best bit for me! Even if I am using bits of left over ham I will fry one or two slices of bacon to get the bacon fat. If you have to follow a fat free diet so be it but 2 rashers of bacon between 4 people really is not overkill. My Dad used to make this and he would add a knob of butter too to add even more richness. If you want to keep the fat to a minimum make the mix into little cakes and brush the bacon fat on each side.... just enough to give it that crusty brown top and bottom. Brussel sprouts is amazing mixed with this and bits of carrot give it a sweetness. In our house this was part of a breakfast or brunch that would include eggs. The lovely runny yolk on the little cakes reminds me of poor mans Eggs Benedict!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I threw this together and loved it. Used thick sliced pepper bacon and drained off some of the grease. Gave it just a touch of heat. It was quick, easy, and delish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Just made this with left over corned beef brisket. I added chopped celery to the onion and didn't use bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've never made it with Ham... just lots of bacon and cabbage and potatoes. The Ham does make a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamahabu

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Growing up, this recipe was always made with left overs from a Sunday night's boiled corned beef and cabbage dinner. No ham or bacon, just the corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm with the black sheep. It was ok. Since everything is about opinions/tastes, I'm not gonna knock it. I only thought it a little too bland. I had a party a couple of days ago and had a potato bar. I had tons of leftovers and exactly what I needed according to the recipe. The paprika, salt and pepper helped, but I suggest adding your favorite seasoning to help it out. I added pepper flakes, and a little garlic. I knew my husband would add some hot sauce to his. It definitely has potential and if you have occasion to serve a traditional meal, this would do the trick. Again, personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is comfort food at its best. I made it for New Years Day, to go along with our black eyed peas. My husband loved it and went back for seconds (which he rarely, if ever, does!) I made it in my cast iron skillet and it did stick a little, but not that much. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is delicious as is! However, it can be made a little healthier and still as delicious: To preserve nutrients otherwise lost to the cooking water, microwave the cabbage for 2 minutes to soften. To cut back a little on fat and calories, use a small amount of olive oil to cook the onion and microwaved cabbage, and bacon that has been pre-cooked and drained of grease (but don't eliminate the bacon pieces! It really makes the dish!). I also use a higher cabbage:potato ratio. Sometimes sweet potato, sometimes no potato. Another delicious variation is to use smoked turkey or duck instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I make this with a sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States