Bubble Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I feel this recipe may have been unfairly rated by some -- don't confound a distaste for boba/bubble tea itself with an unsuccessful recipe. You can find boba, black large-pearl tapioca, at most Asian food stores and in the Asian aisles of some more commercial food places. In my experience, it isn't necessary to cook them for a full 45 minutes; bring the water to a full boil, add the boba till they float, then reduce to a simmer for 25 minutes, covered. Then remove from heat and allow to stew for about 20 additional minutes. Rinse them with cool water and store them in the fridge, covered, with sugar or honey dissolved in water to keep them hydrated. My bag of boba directs that you use roughly 6x the volume of water as boba while cooking. Of course you can use whatever type of tea, with sweetener of choice and milk added to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I've tried making my own bubble tea on several occasions, and it's never quite as good as buying it from the popular local bubble tea shops. A few things that help make it close are 1) using frozen large tapioca pearls instead of the dry ones 2) using Lipton black tea and 3) sweetening the tea with condensed milk. It's a hard thing to make, and your recipe was nice shot at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wonderful!!! You either like bubble tea or you don't. Don't let the other reviews scare you away from trying it! It's very time consuming but very worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Doesn't taste like the bottled stuff at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heliftsmeup
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Such a neat drink idea! I could only find small tapioca pearls but I used the chai tea mix from this site BUT I was not able to find powdered, unsweetened tea mix so I just brewed some regular tea and mixed the chai mix and tapioca in. Lots of fun. I can see how this would be good with bigger pearls and a big straw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heliftsmeup

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Definately not my thing, the chewy tapioca pearls were just too odd for for me. But if you are a tea lover, you may want to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Yeah, just like someone else said on here, you either like it or dont like it so dont be scared to try. this is actually a pretty good base recipe, i flavored mine with coconut and used green tea :] and for some people, they just dont like the chewy tapioca pearls but thats just preference. try it, and its not authentic without the pearls but still is yummy :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I was skeptical, but thought I would give this a go. I really wish I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Honey dew bubble tea is my favorite. I buy it from a Japanese tea lounge, and it is the most delicious thing for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyusi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love chai tea and i love tapioca pudding...and I'll try anything twice. The texture was just strange. Maybe if there was a way to flavor the tapioca pearls to make them sweeter?? It was just okay. LOVED the chai tea recipe, though, and even made this again, just without the tapioca pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTENW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States