Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was a great recipe. I used Andouille sausage in place of smoked and added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper and another tsp of Cajun seasoning. I also added 1/4 tsp of creole seasoning and tempered a bit of the hot liquid with 1 Tbs flour and added that to the mixture to thicken. I added cooked rice and prawns to the simmered ingredients 15 minutes before serving. My husband loved this and wants me to make it again soon. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty
Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great recipe... Only changes I made were I omitted the bacon and sauteed the veggies with "I can't believe its not butter"and I didn't have any Cajun seasoning on hand so I used salt and it was GREAT!! Adding to my favorites right now THANKS :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica60633

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I can give this recipe 5 stars because I used the Cajun Spice Mix recipe from this website and adjusted the heat to suit my family's taste. I tried it with store bought cajun seasoning and it was way too hot for us. My husband and daughter asked me to cook the rice separately so they could control the final mix to suit them and this worked nicely for us. Without the rice to absorb some of the liquid, I was concerned that it would be too soupy and debated reducing the amount of broth, however, I used the amount of broth specified and it was great served over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzzingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Friggin Delicious! Only thing I'll do different is leave out the bacon. Using the drippings was great, but I didn't care for the bacon itself mixed in with everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great recipe. Tried a lot of Jambalayas but like this one best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
yes I agree I fix it separate for them rise like a stew and then spooned stew over rice in bowels. Make a little extra broth it is wonderful have made this recipe several times and making it again today. we love it ...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I have made this 3 times, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Dagum good! Everyone (6 of us-2 teenagers, 2 young adults and 2 real adults) loved it, even the extremely picky 16 yr old...high praise indeed. Cooked rice separately in the broths and added it in app. 10 minutes before serving and it soaked up all the rest of the lovely juices. Used andouille sausage and no shrimp since I didn't have any on hand. Everyone said they didn't miss it, but I know that it would add to an already incredible dish. I more or less doubled everything, didn't measure, just threw it in. Oh, and added some garlic, but I add that to almost everything but ice cream. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this recipe for a football game party we had and everybody loved it! It was pretty easy to make but did take some time, but it was worth the wait! I accidentally bought lemon pepper flavored chicken which turned out to be a good idea. I also used Old Bay seasoning instead of cajun and didn't have any thyme, so I skipped it. I added flavored cans of tomatoes instead of plain. I made a double batch, so I used three cans of garlic and onion flavored and one can with green chiles in it. When I make it again, I will probably skip the shrimp, because it didn't seem to add that much flavor, but I highly recommend using venison sausage if you have it available! I did, and that made this dish awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Wow, this was great!! I've never made Jambalaya before and I also rarely give a recipe a 5 star rating but this was completely deserving. I made it pretty much as directed but used no ham, added 1 tsp oregano, 1 bay leaf, added a pinch of red pepper flakes and probably quite a bit more cajun seasoning (discovered Tony Cashere's creole seasoning... WOW, so much better than the generic cajun seasoning I've been using.) After reading some of the reviews, I cooked the rice separately. Use all of the crushed tomatoe...so good. Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 478) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States