Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Quite delicious!!! I cooked the rice separately and used 1 can crushed tomatoes, 1 can tomato sauce, and used large fresh shrimp. Some extra seasonings, garlic powder and a little sugar to cut bitterness of tomatoes (maybe 1/2 tsp). Finally I added in about a cup of frozen okra 5 min before it was done. Served over buttered white rice w/ crusty french bread. My hunny could eat this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Bubba, I love you. This recipe was AWESOME! My husband kept nudging me and telling me how good it was. I added more celery, onion, and bell pepper than I should have, but it was all the merrier. I didn't think it was going to be very good....until it all started to marry in the pot. YUUUUMMMMM. I even left out the bacon and shrimp, and it rocked!!!!! I used minute rice, boil in the bag, so I cooked the rice first, but not too much, and then poured it in the brew. That worked out really well. I'm always leary of cookin rice, I can screw that up fast! Uncle Ben's Boil in Bag is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I liked this version better than the one I had in New Orleans. I had kielbasa on hand and was looking for a way to use it, so I thought that putting it in a jambalaya sounded good. I used Smart Balance to saute the veggies instead of bacon... the bacon sounded too heavy, plus in the south, everything is cooked in butter, right? I used extra creole seasoning, an extra teaspoon or maybe a little more and served it with Crystal hot sauce. Excellent! My eight year old agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this last night and it was a hit!! Thanks for submitting such a great recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added more Cajun seasoning, a little crushed red pepper, 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper, and andouille sausage instead of smoked. I simmered everything except the shrimp, rice, and bacon for about 4 hours (so the house smelled really yummy) and added the last ingredients prior to serving. We gobbled it up!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I've never made Jambalaya before, and this recipe was a huge hit with everyone in the family. My mom has had Jambalaya in Louisiana and said mine was the best she's ever had! I did make adjustments. I used 1.5 onions, and 2 bell peppers (one red, one green). I used 14oz of kielbasa because I wanted to use up the whole package. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of 1. I may have put a little more than 2 cups of jasmine rice into the mix, and in addition to the crushed tomatoes, I used a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes with their juice. I used fresh medium-sized shrimp. I used a 32oz box of beef broth and a 14.5oz can of chicken broth. I used both fresh and dried thyme because I had fresh on hand. I added 3 cloves of chopped fresh garlic in with the onions and peppers during the last minute, and powdered onion and garlic powder to taste. I also added crushed red pepper flakes to taste. All in all, I think it was perfect; my rice cooked up perfectly in about 20 minutes and the consistency was nice and thick. MAKE SURE YOU STIR THOROUGHLY EVERY 5 MINUTES WHILE THE RICE IS COOKING SO IT DOESN'T STICK OR CLUMP IN THE POT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This is very, very good. I added the ingredients (minus the rice) and let it simmer for a couple of hours. I also added some flour and water to thicken it up a little bit. I seasoned it a bit more with some cayenne and pepper. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Excellent recipe! My boyfriend couldn't get enough of it, even ate it for breakfast, lol.. one tip though, i would cook the rice seperate,otherwise it takes forever and sticks to the bottom of pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I used brown rice, 3/4 a pound of cooked, cubed chicken breast, 1 pound of sausage, 1/2 pound of ham, and 1/2 pound of shrimp. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I didnt read the comments that others made. I followed the directions and cooked the rice together instead of making it seperately, and my Jambalaya came out like mush. The flavor was good, but the texture was horrible. I will try this recipe again but I will make the rice seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This is so delicious I made it 3 times in 1 week! I used turkey sausage, deli ham and leftover chicken and it came out wonderful! Be sure to measure the Cajun Seasoning as directed or it will be "woo-wee" HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States