Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe! My picky eaters devoured it. This recipe can feed an army so I shared the rest with neighbours. All with rave reviews. I used farmer sausage because of availability. My girls don't like too much heat so I did cut back 1/4tsp on the seasoning. Here is a tip for the rice issues mentioned in some posts. Soak the rice for 5 minutes and rinse it well before adding it to the pot (something I learned from our exchange students). This removes some starches and speeds up cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Thank you Bubba! My husband and I loved it. Had it for dinner tonight. Used 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1 tsp pepper; 1/2 tsp paprika; and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper for the spices. Even added large raw shrimp with the rice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninzel
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
No changes and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninzel
Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I added crushed garlic, Worcester, and a little brown sugar, also cooked rice separately. Used 1 can tomato with green chili's,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this last night. Perfect recipe. This is the first time I ever made my own jambalaya. I did cook rice separately as suggested and added a small amount of flour to thicken sauce. I used a cajun flavored sausage. I will make it again with a different sausage. Didn't taste bad but had more if a kick than I was expecting (because of the sausage) and I love spicy. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by john
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
And some chili power to make a little spicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe, but I did not see any warnings about the following. When I added the rice, it sucked all the liquid up. Next time I'm thinking of putting some rice in each person's bowl and then ladling the liquid into each bowl. Did anyone else have an answer for this problem. Other problem, which is my fault, was I used a larger shrimp with tails because I did not have salad shrimp. The tails came off and some mouthfuls had these broken off tails in them. Not good. These are not the fault of the recipe, but I thought I would warn others about my problems. Thanks Bubba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Good recipe, changed it up a little to suit my tastes. I used twice the sausage, (recommend andouille if you can find it), twice the ham, no chicken or shrimp, a whole green pepper, red pepper, green onions and four toes of garlic. Used another 1/4 cup of each broth and an extra 1/4 of rice. To season, some tony chacheres, cavenders greek seasoning, thyme, fresh ground pepper, and lime juice. I also brown the sausage and ham in the bacon grease before doing the vegetables. Comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Cooking for a family of 8, I am always grateful to find a recipe everyone likes. I make this recipe almost weekly and my husband down to my 2 year old rave about how much they enjoy it! Since we are on a strict budget, I often substitute pinto beans for the meat in this dish and somehow it always turns out very flavorful and satisfying after boiling the beans with the veggies and broth. When meat is plentiful, this dish is great as well. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrianne Castleberry
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great recipe. I used Toni chachere's creole seasoning instead of Cajun seasoning and I omitted the bacon . I did add some garlic powder,crush red pepper, and salt. I also cooked the rice separate and I'll add an extra green pepper next time too. I'd also like to try it with andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States