Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Good recipe, changed it up a little to suit my tastes. I used twice the sausage, (recommend andouille if you can find it), twice the ham, no chicken or shrimp, a whole green pepper, red pepper, green onions and four toes of garlic. Used another 1/4 cup of each broth and an extra 1/4 of rice. To season, some tony chacheres, cavenders greek seasoning, thyme, fresh ground pepper, and lime juice. I also brown the sausage and ham in the bacon grease before doing the vegetables. Comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Cooking for a family of 8, I am always grateful to find a recipe everyone likes. I make this recipe almost weekly and my husband down to my 2 year old rave about how much they enjoy it! Since we are on a strict budget, I often substitute pinto beans for the meat in this dish and somehow it always turns out very flavorful and satisfying after boiling the beans with the veggies and broth. When meat is plentiful, this dish is great as well. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrianne Castleberry
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great recipe. I used Toni chachere's creole seasoning instead of Cajun seasoning and I omitted the bacon . I did add some garlic powder,crush red pepper, and salt. I also cooked the rice separate and I'll add an extra green pepper next time too. I'd also like to try it with andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJJ416
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe. I used brown sugar ham and spiced the chicken prior to adding it to the mix. I also used turkey hot Italian sausage because I'm a dork. I also added crashed red pepper and hot paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Thank you to the genius that put this in allrecipes! Every time I make this dish it's a hit! Yummy:) thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I never made jambalaya before but this was great. I served it with cornbread (made from scratch using a recipe I found on this site) and fried okra. The recipe says to boil the uncooked rice in the pot. Many of the comments say to cook the rice separately and then add to the pot, which is what I did. It came out great, but I think it would have been better to just cook the rice in the jambalaya because then it would have soaked up the broth. Also, adding the frozen okra to the pot 5 minutes before serving was an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This jambalaya was the best I've had yet. The recipe was very accurate my family loved it, I will be making this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUS2
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMB
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and my husband and I both declared it a keeper from the first bite! Changes I made: turkey bacon, no ham, 1 lb chicken, turkey sausage, petite diced tomatoes, 4 c chicken broth, no beef broth, no shrimp and added some minced garlic. I was concerned about adding the rice at the end due to other reviews, but it worked out great! The stirring seems to be the key, especially within the first few minutes. The Cajun spice I use is made by Weber, and 2 t was just enough. My husband usually puts extra hot sauce on stuff, but didn't with this recipe. We agreed that it's just enough spice for us, but would probably be too much for most kids or those who don't love spicy foods, so you might want to cut back on the spice in the beginning and add more later if desired. Thanks for sharing Bubba's recipe, FORDMAN88! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
you have no idea how good this stuff is. My wife and I were eating this for days and I still want more of it. The only unfortunate part is that I have to add shrimp separately because my little lady doesn't like it, but I make this in my cast iron dutch oven over a wood fire, and I'll likely not ever use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It's delicious, easy to add or subtract ingredients you want. I doubled it as is. I would keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States