Bubba's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was a good, hearty bread. If you do not have self-rising flour, you can add 2 tsp baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt to regular flour. I do not have a cast iron skillet, so I just made this in an 8x8 metal baking dish. I couldn't really taste the cheese or the dill - this bread doesn't have strong flavors. But served with honey it was still darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Pretty good, super easy, it was a little bland for my taste, i would have liked it with a little garlic and spices. Also, mine did not rise very high. Overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
For a bread that is made without yeast, this bread is amazingly like a yeast bread. It was like a cross between a cheese biscuit and yeast bread, with a nice crunchy crust. The only changes I made were to leave out the onion powder and to use 1/2 cup shredded cheese instead of cubed. I drizzled the batter with 2 tablespoons melted butter mixed with 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and let the dough sit in the pan for about 15 minutes prior to baking. I used JW Dundee's Honey Brown lager. Very nice and quick change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Top is very hard. I thought the bread would be dry. Actually, the bread was moist and had wonderful flavor. This is a very dense heavy bread. Not a pretty piece but very tasty for a home meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This has a good flavor, but the texture leaves a lot to be desired. Because of being cooked in a cast iron skillet, not only is there a bottom crust (good) but the top of this bread is hard and crunchy also due to the nature of beer bread, and that's not so good. I even buttered the top of my bread with melted butter before baking, and still wound up with a hard (though tasty) crust. I did like the addition of dill, because I'm always looking for an excuse to use more of that, but overall, cook this one in a standard loaf pan, so that there's less surface area of the hard top crust to contend with. (It'll fit.) The cheese was lost in this recipe; you need to either add more, use a harder cheese, or omit it and serve slices of cheese on the side, because 4 oz. cubed cannot be tasted in the end product (and adds another dimension to the whole chewy-crunchy-edges thing on all sides). Thanks, Mark, for a tasty beer bread that I can easily adjust to be perfect for my family's tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hey Bubba, This recipe must be for yankees cause southerners eat "hog Jowls."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Good! Like Grannyloohoo I put butter on top of mine. The top is still super crunchy which I don't like that much. I added granulated garlic. I like the cheese in chunks. Used a good amber ale. Really easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made my own self rising flour. This needed four more ounces of beer than what was called for. I melted 1/4 cup of butter and poured it over the top before baking. This took just over an hour to bake IN A GLASS PYREX BREAD PAN. This was just okay. Two of us loved it, the other two didn't care for it. My oldest said it needed more cheese. NOTE: If you bake this with the butter on top, make sure you put a pan underneath to catch the drips from the pan. Otherwise, you'll have one heck of a mess on your hands. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Love this bread. Hardest part is having a beer at room temperature. I drink mine frosty cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfr610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States