Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Not sure that the teaspoon of cocoa is even detectable, so I'd just call it "lamb chili." Anyhow, made it per the recipe except only half the chili powder because I ran out. Guests said it was the best chili ever. Just spicy enough to be interesting but not punishing or sweat-inducing. I served it with wheat berries (boiled, like rice), which gave something to chew and allowed the flavor to linger longer in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Won me second place in the chili competition! You have to have an adventurous palette, but it's really different, lean and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Mogil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a keeper! The only changes I made were to use 1 can red kidney beans, and one can of garbanzo beans (because that's what I had), and used only 3 TBSP chili powder. So easy, so good! After I stirred in the tomatoes & beans & brought to a boil, I transferred it to a slow-cooker for 5 hours. I was going to garnish with crumbled feta, but we were so excited to eat it that I forgot all about the feta! Just the right amount of spice & flavor medley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaSally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I made a couple of changes to fit the taste of my family better, and everyone loved it. First, I reduced the chili powder to 2 tablespoons. Next, I used a 28-ounce can of crushed tomatoes and one 15.5-ounce can of dark red kidney beans instead of the proportions in the recipe. I also drained and rinsed the beans before adding them. Finally, I used Hershey's Dark Reserve cocoa powder. I'm sure the recipe tastes good as written, but my family would never have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I think I'm going to have to use lamb in all of my chili recipes from now on! This was good - very flavorful. The broth was a bit watery and lacked body so I may add a little tomato paste next time. Used one can of kidneys and one can of black beans, rinsed and then added one can of water for liquid. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The recipe was good, the combination of flavors was good but it just wasn't wow for me. I don't know if it was the lamb or the spices or what, but it wasn't my favorite chili dish (and I love lamb, so I was surprised). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. Went by the directions, except used fewer beans than called for. Would lighten up on the chili powder. Ended up adding an extra can of beans to the leftover before freezing for another meal, hoping that will calm the heat down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
How to make it without so much heat Fantastic chili recipe, rich and deeply flavorful. Works well with other types of beans: I've used black and it was just as delicious. I calculate 4 cups as two cans and don't have the "too many beans" problems others have mentioned. You can rinse the canned beans to reduce gassiness and salt, and just put in a little extra plain water. I am sure that if you can take the heat of that much chili powder, this recipe is great as-is. I cannot, so I used the following to substitute for the chili powder and flakes: 3/4 tsp chili powder, 1.5 tsp paprika (to give red pepper taste without heat), increase cinnamon to 1/2 tsp, increase cocoa to to 1.5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it was good, but not great. It really needed some tomato sauce or tomato paste to give it some body. I am a big fan of Cincinnati chili, so I felt it could have used more cinnamon and cocoa powder as well. The heat from the red pepper flakes was fine for me but the kids thought it was a little to spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States