Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
How to make it without so much heat Fantastic chili recipe, rich and deeply flavorful. Works well with other types of beans: I've used black and it was just as delicious. I calculate 4 cups as two cans and don't have the "too many beans" problems others have mentioned. You can rinse the canned beans to reduce gassiness and salt, and just put in a little extra plain water. I am sure that if you can take the heat of that much chili powder, this recipe is great as-is. I cannot, so I used the following to substitute for the chili powder and flakes: 3/4 tsp chili powder, 1.5 tsp paprika (to give red pepper taste without heat), increase cinnamon to 1/2 tsp, increase cocoa to to 1.5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
We really liked this recipe and I will certainly make it again. The cinnamon and the cocoa powder add a very subtle and Mexican flavor to this simple and quick dish. I used two cans of kidney beans and drained the liquid out of the cans as I don't like the flavor or consistancy of the liquid. I did add a little water to the pot to replace the bean water. I also added some frozen corn at the end, but this can certainly be left out without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was good and spicy! We actually raise our own lambs for eating so we have ground lamb availble in our freezer (sorry to those who couldn't find it, it's so good with it!). I actually added 3 cans of diced tomatoes one with green peppers and onions and 2 cans regular rotel. Next time I will omit the crushed peppers as it was a little spicey for my kids, but they still loved it and said that it was a 'good spicey'. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarCreekFarm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is a FABULOUS spice mix! I've made this recipe a half dozen times, so finally made up a pint jar with the spices (multiplied the spices by 10, combined, and stored in labeled mason jar). I rewrote this recipe to be called "Any Meat, Lotsa Beans, Chocolate Chili" and have been handing it out with ziploc baggies of spices all over town, to rave reviews! I throw in whatever meat, beans, and veggies I please, and the chili comes out delicious every time. BEST THING ABOUT THIS RECIPE is that you can use left-over, cooked meat, canned beans, and just throw the spices in there and the whole thing is delicious IN ONLY 15 MINUTES! I also use whatever tomato product I have on hand, and must add some sort of corn, either fresh, frozen, or canned. Enjoy this recipe... You'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I was a little scared to try this recipe. If you like to taste while it cooks, don't! It was notsogood during the cooking process but after sitting for a day it was good. It's different from typical chili but not too different. Ok yes I made a few changes.... I added two diced poblano chilis, and I used 1/2 can of tomato & basil soup. The diced tomatoes I used also had green chilies in it. I used 1/2 can of chili beans and 1/2 kidney beans. This recipe will be occuring this cold winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is wonderful, I actually used sweetened chocolate powder and it was still very good. I guess it does not matter whether you add sugar to the unsweetened powder or if you just use sweetened powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this for the FFA Chili Dinner. It was a huge hit! The only change I made was using different types of beans such as black beans, red beans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I had lamb sausage instead of ground lamb. Basically, the chili was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I found this recipe a few years ago, and it's been in my regular rotation ever since! Boyfriend asks me to make this chili all the time. This recipe is great as written. Add a little shredded mozzarella and hot sauce to garnish, and this is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren115

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We made this as written and really liked it. Worked well in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States