Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is a FABULOUS spice mix! I've made this recipe a half dozen times, so finally made up a pint jar with the spices (multiplied the spices by 10, combined, and stored in labeled mason jar). I rewrote this recipe to be called "Any Meat, Lotsa Beans, Chocolate Chili" and have been handing it out with ziploc baggies of spices all over town, to rave reviews! I throw in whatever meat, beans, and veggies I please, and the chili comes out delicious every time. BEST THING ABOUT THIS RECIPE is that you can use left-over, cooked meat, canned beans, and just throw the spices in there and the whole thing is delicious IN ONLY 15 MINUTES! I also use whatever tomato product I have on hand, and must add some sort of corn, either fresh, frozen, or canned. Enjoy this recipe... You'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The flavor of this dish isn't for everyone but I loved it. The addition of the cocoa powder added an extra layer of flavors to the dish that you don't find often in most chilis. I would definitely make this again. My only critique, and it is slight as this dish is pretty perfect as is, is that I found the proportion between meat and beans to be too heavy on the beans side. Next time, I would either increase the lamb by half a pound, or decrease the amount of beans by a cup. If you're using canned kidney beans, 4 cups is roughly 3 cans. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My husband loved this but there was something very weird about it. I didn't care for it at all. I would want a lot more tomatoes and less beans. Maybe it was the beans I used but there was a really bad bitterness that ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was good and spicy! We actually raise our own lambs for eating so we have ground lamb availble in our freezer (sorry to those who couldn't find it, it's so good with it!). I actually added 3 cans of diced tomatoes one with green peppers and onions and 2 cans regular rotel. Next time I will omit the crushed peppers as it was a little spicey for my kids, but they still loved it and said that it was a 'good spicey'. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarCreekFarm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
We really liked this recipe and I will certainly make it again. The cinnamon and the cocoa powder add a very subtle and Mexican flavor to this simple and quick dish. I used two cans of kidney beans and drained the liquid out of the cans as I don't like the flavor or consistancy of the liquid. I did add a little water to the pot to replace the bean water. I also added some frozen corn at the end, but this can certainly be left out without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Very tasty, and of course even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was a good chili with nice heat and the chocolate adds a richness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We made this as written and really liked it. Worked well in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is wonderful, I actually used sweetened chocolate powder and it was still very good. I guess it does not matter whether you add sugar to the unsweetened powder or if you just use sweetened powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I had lamb sausage instead of ground lamb. Basically, the chili was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States