Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
We made this as written and really liked it. Worked well in the slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I found this recipe a few years ago, and it's been in my regular rotation ever since! Boyfriend asks me to make this chili all the time. This recipe is great as written. Add a little shredded mozzarella and hot sauce to garnish, and this is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren115

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I had lamb sausage instead of ground lamb. Basically, the chili was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this for the FFA Chili Dinner. It was a huge hit! The only change I made was using different types of beans such as black beans, red beans, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good chili! The lamb really works in chili and I would have never tried it. I halved the chili powder, because I don't like spicy, and I thought it had the perfect heat--just enough to make your throat tingle. I also thought it was a little bean heavy so will probably cut down on the beans next time, or at least use smaller beans instead of kidney. Even my 1 year old ate a whole bowl (and was up crying at bedtime probably from indigestion, but that's not the recipe's fault!). I love incorporating cinnamon into main courses, and the cocoa and cinnamon blends into this so subtly that you don't taste it directly, it just adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
The flavor of this dish isn't for everyone but I loved it. The addition of the cocoa powder added an extra layer of flavors to the dish that you don't find often in most chilis. I would definitely make this again. My only critique, and it is slight as this dish is pretty perfect as is, is that I found the proportion between meat and beans to be too heavy on the beans side. Next time, I would either increase the lamb by half a pound, or decrease the amount of beans by a cup. If you're using canned kidney beans, 4 cups is roughly 3 cans. Otherwise, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is wonderful, I actually used sweetened chocolate powder and it was still very good. I guess it does not matter whether you add sugar to the unsweetened powder or if you just use sweetened powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I was a little scared to try this recipe. If you like to taste while it cooks, don't! It was notsogood during the cooking process but after sitting for a day it was good. It's different from typical chili but not too different. Ok yes I made a few changes.... I added two diced poblano chilis, and I used 1/2 can of tomato & basil soup. The diced tomatoes I used also had green chilies in it. I used 1/2 can of chili beans and 1/2 kidney beans. This recipe will be occuring this cold winter season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
My husband loved this but there was something very weird about it. I didn't care for it at all. I would want a lot more tomatoes and less beans. Maybe it was the beans I used but there was a really bad bitterness that ruined it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is a FABULOUS spice mix! I've made this recipe a half dozen times, so finally made up a pint jar with the spices (multiplied the spices by 10, combined, and stored in labeled mason jar). I rewrote this recipe to be called "Any Meat, Lotsa Beans, Chocolate Chili" and have been handing it out with ziploc baggies of spices all over town, to rave reviews! I throw in whatever meat, beans, and veggies I please, and the chili comes out delicious every time. BEST THING ABOUT THIS RECIPE is that you can use left-over, cooked meat, canned beans, and just throw the spices in there and the whole thing is delicious IN ONLY 15 MINUTES! I also use whatever tomato product I have on hand, and must add some sort of corn, either fresh, frozen, or canned. Enjoy this recipe... You'll be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States