Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I really liked this and my girlfriend loved it. I used 2 15 oz cans of tomato sauce instead of the paste or the tomatoes. I also simmered the sauce for about an hour and added 1/2 an onion, 1 green and 1 red pepper, and also 2 cans of chopped mushrooms to give the sauce a little more substance. I will be making this one again and again. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was excellent! I used the entire 3/4 cup of brown sugar, and I was extremely liberal with crushed red pepper - perfect blend of sweet & spicy :) We're definitely going to be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I love this recipe and it was so yummy. The more you ate you can taste the hot at the end. Make it again. You bet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexander Heights, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I really enjoy this recipe. I make it with the tomatoes in my garden. It is quick, easy and has a fresh unique taste to it. I receive compliments on it each time it is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was one of the best pasta sauces i've ever tasted. If you cut back on the red pepper a bit, you get the exact recipe of my late grandfather, who in my opinion made the best sauce in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Not the usual bland, bitter store junk! I didn't add as much suger as suggested, but it did say to add slowly to taste. I chopped a few green peppers and mushrooms into it and was AWSOME! I love spicey foods and I am Vegetarian. Perfect! Will make over and over again! I can't wait to try it with fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I used seasoned diced tomatoes and only 1/4 cup sugar but it was still WAY too sweet. I added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it was much better. Rating based on revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Good recipe. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I added cooked ground beef. I also let cook on low in my crock pot for several hours! My husband loved it and the Kids even ate some! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This sauce was amazing! I served it over angel hair pasta and my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it!!! It has a real kick to it, but at the same time is wonderfully sweet. This recipe has definitely earved a spot in my permanant recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
I really enjoyed this recipe - its something different but really tasty. Unfortunately, my family didn't like it so I'll only be making it in small batches for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States