Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Cut the brown sugar in half as well as the red pepper - maye add a bit more of both next time around. Sauteed garlic and shrimp and put those with the sauce and just served that with roasted vegetables and bread on the side. LOVED THAT MEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I won't repeat a lot - except to say that the kids and wife loved this. I kept the sugar at 1/4 cup, and probably over did it on the crushed chiles..... we will be having this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The spices were overwhelmed by the tomatoes. I'm also a big fan of chunkier, bolognese sauces for my pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Great sauce. My husband hates tomatoes but loved this. I might use a little less sugar next time, it was just a little too sweet. Overall it was GREAT. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SydElliesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This has a really unique flavor with the start of sweet and the spicy finish. My family still can't decide if they like it or not. I would definately recommend trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
We really loved this. The only things I done different was I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and thats because thats all I had and I added 1 can of tomato sauce trying to stretch the sauce because the recipe only served 4 and I needed to serve 6 and it did perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a good base. I added a lot of veggies and it worked out well. It was very quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This is very sweet, I only used 1/2 cup sugar and had to put in more tomatoes and vinegar just to make it tolerable. I would advise anyone making this recipe to start with maybe 1/4 cup sugar and work your way up from there. It tasted quite nice after I added some basil and oregano to it, and I think it would be a really nice pizza sauce, not as good for pasta though. Thank you for submitting, it is a good base recipe to use as a starting point and modify to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerry g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is the stuff italian-food dreams are made of. Soooo delicious, and quick to put together. I used crushed red pepper, omitted the celery salt and ended up using slightly less than 3/4 c. sugar. Also, used crushed tomatos with italian herbs. I think my husband would love this over some italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was delicious! I don't think I added enough brown sugar, but it was still good. It was sweet at first, and the aftertaste was spicy. I added some oregano and basil as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States