Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I thought that it was the strangest ingredient, brown sugar. I am Italian and have never added brown sugar, white sugar yes, really cuts down on the acidity. I also added a few herbs, oregano and basil. But this was very good. I only added 1/2c brown sugar, I think 3/4c would be too sweet. Nice change to regular spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Better than store bought!. Followed the recipe and it was very, very good. I thought it was a tad sweet, but husband said he thought it was just right. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and see if I like it better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did not care for this. And waaayyyy too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is so good!! I made it to go with "Crispy Chicken Parmesan" per the request of my son for his birthday supper choice - we all loved it! The only thing I'd do different next time is try it with a little less sugar, and we only used the initial 1/2c and found that to be a bit too much but it wasn't so bad, everyone liked it just thought it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love allrecipes and have over 100 recipes saved. But this is the first recipe that I've reviewed. I just had to do it. This was not to my liking! I'm sorry, but the worst sauce I've ever had. Very bland, tasted like canned tomatoes, but with a kick that just didn't fit. Basically no spices at all and the brown sugar was just wrong. I have to say, it's coming out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
WOW!! I haven't been so stunningly pleased with a recipe for a long time! I made this sauce to go with 'Meatball Nirvana' posted by lovestohost as a sauce for meatball hogies, and I love the initial sweetness, followed by the spice. A little mozzarella cheese lightly toasted on top, and it is a perfect hogie. . . Thanks Bryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I doubled this recipe and now I can't wait to use the rest! I made spaghetti and meatballs (frozen) with this sauce last night and it was amazing. I used a little less brown sugar. I didn't have dried red chile pepper but I did have powdered red pepper which worked wonderfully. We had leftover Hawaiian rolls and their sweetness and the sauce's sweetness was so yummy together! I can't wait to try this sauce on homemade pizza dough tomorrow night. When I asked my husband if he liked it, he said "This is the best sauce you have ever made!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Good sauce but a little too sweet for an every day sauce. I really liked it because it was different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I'll repeat what someone else has said, I will not go back to marinara in a jar! If one follows to recipe correctly, it has a wonderful aroma and the balance of sweet and spicy is right on target. I substituted the celery salt for 1/4TBLS of Garlic Salt and I also added 1 TBLS of dried Oregano. I highly recommend this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daledeloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States