Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I gave this a 3 for initial preparation, and a 5, after modifications, for the final product, so averaging a 4. On first reading of the recipe, I knew there was too much sugar for my taste. I started with 1/4 cup - 4 tablespoons - and even then I added one tablespoon of rice wine vinegar to restore some acidity. As the author suggested re adding vegetables, I put in about a cup of sliced Baby Bella mushrooms, maybe 3/4 cup of coarse chop red onions, and some typical Italian herbs, all sautéed with the garlic. Also, I used celery seeds, having no celery salt. Since the recipe didn't specify how long to cook the sauce, I let mine simmer maybe an hour, tasting now and again, with a lid. The flavors blended nicely, although maybe still a tad too sweet. With the long simmer, the spices all toned down a bit, so you may want to readjust the pepper, oregano, etc. after a while. To my amazement, this turned out thick and very much like my mother's tomato sauce, and I know she didn't use sugar, let alone brown sugar! I think tomato paste, which many sauce recipes do not call for, adds a certain amount of sweetness and certainly body to the sauce. Like many stews and sauces, this is even better 2 days later! After slicing and sautéing, let it slow simmer and forget it. I'm going to double the recipe next time and freeze some! I had my doubts, but it's really quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Great and simple recipe , like any pasta sauce should be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris E. Fuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I thought that it was the strangest ingredient, brown sugar. I am Italian and have never added brown sugar, white sugar yes, really cuts down on the acidity. I also added a few herbs, oregano and basil. But this was very good. I only added 1/2c brown sugar, I think 3/4c would be too sweet. Nice change to regular spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Better than store bought!. Followed the recipe and it was very, very good. I thought it was a tad sweet, but husband said he thought it was just right. Next time I will cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup and see if I like it better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did not care for this. And waaayyyy too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is so good!! I made it to go with "Crispy Chicken Parmesan" per the request of my son for his birthday supper choice - we all loved it! The only thing I'd do different next time is try it with a little less sugar, and we only used the initial 1/2c and found that to be a bit too much but it wasn't so bad, everyone liked it just thought it was a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love allrecipes and have over 100 recipes saved. But this is the first recipe that I've reviewed. I just had to do it. This was not to my liking! I'm sorry, but the worst sauce I've ever had. Very bland, tasted like canned tomatoes, but with a kick that just didn't fit. Basically no spices at all and the brown sugar was just wrong. I have to say, it's coming out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
WOW!! I haven't been so stunningly pleased with a recipe for a long time! I made this sauce to go with 'Meatball Nirvana' posted by lovestohost as a sauce for meatball hogies, and I love the initial sweetness, followed by the spice. A little mozzarella cheese lightly toasted on top, and it is a perfect hogie. . . Thanks Bryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I doubled this recipe and now I can't wait to use the rest! I made spaghetti and meatballs (frozen) with this sauce last night and it was amazing. I used a little less brown sugar. I didn't have dried red chile pepper but I did have powdered red pepper which worked wonderfully. We had leftover Hawaiian rolls and their sweetness and the sauce's sweetness was so yummy together! I can't wait to try this sauce on homemade pizza dough tomorrow night. When I asked my husband if he liked it, he said "This is the best sauce you have ever made!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States