Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was one of the best pasta sauces i've ever tasted. If you cut back on the red pepper a bit, you get the exact recipe of my late grandfather, who in my opinion made the best sauce in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
FANTASTIC! It was the perfect blend of sweet and hot. The longer it simmered on the stove the hotter it got. Next time we won't let it simmer quite so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
this is a very good sauce, alittle spicy for the little kids. i added alittle sweet basil, it was just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This spicy and sweet sauce is perfect with penne pasta. The sauce was quick and easy to make, but tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Haven't yet gone food shopping I didn't have much on hand this afternoon but an abundance of pasta and no ready-made sauce in a jar. I looked at the can of crushed tomatoes I had in the cupboard for months with the intent of making my own sauce and was finally forced to take the challenge...so glad I did. This was the absolute best sauce I've ever tasted!! I won't go back to jarred. I only required 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Suggestion: only use 1 TBS oilve oil - 2 made a film of oil around the end that just wouldn't encorporate into the sauce. Quick and Delicious!! Thanks Bryan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I am one of those ones that is a little hesitant to try the recipes that have not been rated by many people but I am so glad that I did with this one. It was wonderful! A great blend of hot and sweet. I lessened the brown sugar to about 1/2 cup and it was perfect. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This sauce was amazing! I served it over angel hair pasta and my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it!!! It has a real kick to it, but at the same time is wonderfully sweet. This recipe has definitely earved a spot in my permanant recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Not the usual bland, bitter store junk! I didn't add as much suger as suggested, but it did say to add slowly to taste. I chopped a few green peppers and mushrooms into it and was AWSOME! I love spicey foods and I am Vegetarian. Perfect! Will make over and over again! I can't wait to try it with fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I really enjoy this recipe. I make it with the tomatoes in my garden. It is quick, easy and has a fresh unique taste to it. I receive compliments on it each time it is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I love this recipe and it was so yummy. The more you ate you can taste the hot at the end. Make it again. You bet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexander Heights, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States