Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have been making this sauce for over 1 year. This is a GREAT recipe for sauce - My kids, ages 15, 9 & 7, LOVE it!! Everytime I make it they all say "Mom, you make the BEST sauce!!" When we go out to eat they say "Mom you should give this restaurant your sauce recipe!!" THANK YOU BRYAN this is the Absolute BEST SAUCE!!! It's DELICIOUS!!! I have used chunky tomatoes as well as puree and crushed. Sometimes I add celery salt and sometimes I don't. You don't necessarily need that ingredient, so if you don't have any don't go buy it just for this, it's PERFECT without it!! And as far as chile pepper, I just use regular crushed red pepper and it works just fine. You will LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Haven't yet gone food shopping I didn't have much on hand this afternoon but an abundance of pasta and no ready-made sauce in a jar. I looked at the can of crushed tomatoes I had in the cupboard for months with the intent of making my own sauce and was finally forced to take the challenge...so glad I did. This was the absolute best sauce I've ever tasted!! I won't go back to jarred. I only required 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Suggestion: only use 1 TBS oilve oil - 2 made a film of oil around the end that just wouldn't encorporate into the sauce. Quick and Delicious!! Thanks Bryan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
FANTASTIC! It was the perfect blend of sweet and hot. The longer it simmered on the stove the hotter it got. Next time we won't let it simmer quite so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is AWESOME sauce! I made a few minor variations - used chipotle chili pepper for a smoky spice, and threw in a small palmful of both basil and oregano (dried) for a tad more Italian flavor. I added the 1/2 cup of brown sugar it says to do initially, but I only added about another 1/4 cup because it was perfect. This is delish and different, not to mention easy. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This was easy to make and put a nice little spin on regular tomato sauce. I put extra crushed chile peppers (closer to a full Tablespoon) in it because my husband and I like hot things. It was a little too hot so next time I think I will stick to the recipe. Someone else said that the brown sugar made it too sweet but I didn't think so. I browned some ground turkey and added that. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
this is a very good sauce, alittle spicy for the little kids. i added alittle sweet basil, it was just the right touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This sauce was amazing! I served it over angel hair pasta and my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it!!! It has a real kick to it, but at the same time is wonderfully sweet. This recipe has definitely earved a spot in my permanant recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I used seasoned diced tomatoes and only 1/4 cup sugar but it was still WAY too sweet. I added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it was much better. Rating based on revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
This spicy and sweet sauce is perfect with penne pasta. The sauce was quick and easy to make, but tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did not care for this. And waaayyyy too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States