Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I'm really sold on this sauce - it's so good! The multiple times I've made it I've used tomato sauce only instead of the tomatoes/paste combination and to give it a bit of texture I saute finely chopped onion with the garlic. I also like to add some oregano along with the celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I prepared this sauce, not varying from the recipe, and it turned out much tangy - almost like pouring bbq sauce on my noodles. If I had wanted bbq sauce, I would have used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
A solid, simple recipe that I make often. Just the right combination of sweet and hot, and all the ingredients already in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
quite good! I found this recipe a little too sweet so i took some sugar out, but other than that great! It has quite a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Easy. Pretty good - I used less heat because of my daughters. Might have been better with more heat. Just okay. Not going to add it to my regular routine stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe!! As some suggested, I tinkered with the recipe slightly. I sauteed a half cup or so of chopped onions with the garlic. I only added a half cup brown sugar and added 2 tsps. of crushed red pepper. I served it over store bought crab/lobster/shrimp ravioli I purchased at our local BJ's warehouse store. Since I had some frozen jumbo shrimp in our freezer, I also added them to the sauce till and cooked till done. I served this with fresh Parmesan cheese. DH went CRAZY over the recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
My search for the perfect homemade pasta sauce has ended! What a winner! I absolutely LOVE this combination of sweet and spicy. I added chopped onion and Italian sausage to the initial saute and followed the recipe from there. I also found that a 1/2 cup of brown sugar was plenty. I'll be making this sauce at Christmas and giving jars of it as gifts to my pasta loving pals! Thanks a million Bryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This sauce is delicious! I did not have any celery salt, so I used garlic salt instead. I don't know if it made any difference. I will definitely be making this sauce again. The blend of sweet and spice is perfect! I used the full 3/4 cup of brown sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have been making this sauce for over 1 year. This is a GREAT recipe for sauce - My kids, ages 15, 9 & 7, LOVE it!! Everytime I make it they all say "Mom, you make the BEST sauce!!" When we go out to eat they say "Mom you should give this restaurant your sauce recipe!!" THANK YOU BRYAN this is the Absolute BEST SAUCE!!! It's DELICIOUS!!! I have used chunky tomatoes as well as puree and crushed. Sometimes I add celery salt and sometimes I don't. You don't necessarily need that ingredient, so if you don't have any don't go buy it just for this, it's PERFECT without it!! And as far as chile pepper, I just use regular crushed red pepper and it works just fine. You will LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is AWESOME sauce! I made a few minor variations - used chipotle chili pepper for a smoky spice, and threw in a small palmful of both basil and oregano (dried) for a tad more Italian flavor. I added the 1/2 cup of brown sugar it says to do initially, but I only added about another 1/4 cup because it was perfect. This is delish and different, not to mention easy. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States