Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I have been making this sauce for over 1 year. This is a GREAT recipe for sauce - My kids, ages 15, 9 & 7, LOVE it!! Everytime I make it they all say "Mom, you make the BEST sauce!!" When we go out to eat they say "Mom you should give this restaurant your sauce recipe!!" THANK YOU BRYAN this is the Absolute BEST SAUCE!!! It's DELICIOUS!!! I have used chunky tomatoes as well as puree and crushed. Sometimes I add celery salt and sometimes I don't. You don't necessarily need that ingredient, so if you don't have any don't go buy it just for this, it's PERFECT without it!! And as far as chile pepper, I just use regular crushed red pepper and it works just fine. You will LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is AWESOME sauce! I made a few minor variations - used chipotle chili pepper for a smoky spice, and threw in a small palmful of both basil and oregano (dried) for a tad more Italian flavor. I added the 1/2 cup of brown sugar it says to do initially, but I only added about another 1/4 cup because it was perfect. This is delish and different, not to mention easy. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I really liked this and my girlfriend loved it. I used 2 15 oz cans of tomato sauce instead of the paste or the tomatoes. I also simmered the sauce for about an hour and added 1/2 an onion, 1 green and 1 red pepper, and also 2 cans of chopped mushrooms to give the sauce a little more substance. I will be making this one again and again. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was excellent! I used the entire 3/4 cup of brown sugar, and I was extremely liberal with crushed red pepper - perfect blend of sweet & spicy :) We're definitely going to be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I love this recipe and it was so yummy. The more you ate you can taste the hot at the end. Make it again. You bet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexander Heights, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I really enjoy this recipe. I make it with the tomatoes in my garden. It is quick, easy and has a fresh unique taste to it. I receive compliments on it each time it is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was one of the best pasta sauces i've ever tasted. If you cut back on the red pepper a bit, you get the exact recipe of my late grandfather, who in my opinion made the best sauce in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Not the usual bland, bitter store junk! I didn't add as much suger as suggested, but it did say to add slowly to taste. I chopped a few green peppers and mushrooms into it and was AWSOME! I love spicey foods and I am Vegetarian. Perfect! Will make over and over again! I can't wait to try it with fresh ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I used seasoned diced tomatoes and only 1/4 cup sugar but it was still WAY too sweet. I added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce and it was much better. Rating based on revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Good recipe. I used diced tomatoes instead of crushed. I added cooked ground beef. I also let cook on low in my crock pot for several hours! My husband loved it and the Kids even ate some! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States