Bryan's Sweet and Hot Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I love this sauce. The only sauce that my husband and i both like. I add lean ground turkey and splendid brown sugar and it is still great. I serve over whole wheat pasta and hubby barely notices. Tasty, easy and healthy-very rare combo. i make once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Fabulous flavor, followed the recipe exact and also used some of the other viewers idea. Few questions if someone could respond back, how long do you cook the sauce for? my sauce even though it cooked on low simmer for 2 hours, burnt alittle on the bottom of the pan and had to change the pan twice, does anyone experience this. A few thoughts on the burning, could it be the thick tomato paste and or the brown sugar would cause the sauce to burn at the bottom of the pan, if anyone could help me out with these questions it would be great and share ideas you might have also. thxs Lacey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
More sweet than hot. I didn't know which type of peppers so I used a mix of ancho chile powder, cayenne pepper powder and crushed red pepper to equal the total amount. I only used 1 T of olive oil and browned a lb. of ground beef in with the garlic too. I really liked this a lot but my husband didn't and ate something else. Our teen devoured it without a word. I guess it's simply a matter of preference. I was surprised how good this was without a lot of spices and traditional spaghetti sauce herbs. I would fix this again for me, but my husband disliked it. Thanks, I enjoyed trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I used 1 TBSP crushed red pepper. WOW!!!!!!! TOO MUCH!!!! I think the brown sugar needs to be only 1/3 cup as it was very sweet. Also, I added 1/2 tsp each of parsley and oregano. I used garlic powder instead of celery salt as well. When my husband tasted it, his words were WOW! He loved it, then again....he loves HOT sauces! He said it was better than any restaurant sauce he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good starter recipe but the brown sugar was a little much. I would decrease it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was not for us. I like sweet sauce, but this was overdoing it (and I used the minimum called for). It was spicy, but that did not improve the quality. Quite frankly, both my hubby and I thought it tasted like (and has the consistency of) ketchup. No other spices come through at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I often use just plain tomato sauce instead of tomatoes+tomato paste but it doesn't matter...this sauce is off the hook! It's a part of my regular meal rotation now. I usually make it with sauteed red/green/yellow peppers and onions. Thanks for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Thank you for such a FANTASTIC pasta sauce recipe!!! Anything sweet and spicy with tomatoes is definitely my thing. This recipe is very easy to make and very versatile -- you can almost add anything you like. I added Italian sausage, diced onions, mushrooms, and a bit of oregano. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Only problem with the recipe is that it's so good, my family only wants this anymore when we have pasta. Thankfully, it's easy enough to make so I can keep them all happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This sauce surprises me how good it is everytime I make it! My husband and I absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States