Bryan's Red Ribbon Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bigcountry
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great texture ! And, the yield is perfect for our family. Enough to enjoy but not so many that we are eating them for days. 14 minutes was far too long in my oven, 9 minutes resulted in a perfect cookie. Crisp edges and chewy middle. We will definately make again, maybe adding a bit of cinnamon the next time. Thanks for recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigcountry
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I made half a recipe using one whole egg and pecans. I used a small cookie scoop first and just put a few on parchment. They barely spread and still seemed a little doughy in the middle even though the outsides were crispy. Went up to #40 and flattened them a little, they spread to about 3" cookies. Just about right. A tablespoon is not going to make a very big cookie! I got a dozen regular size cookies after the first two balls. Halfway through I added some craisins to the rest of the batter. 400 at 9 minutes is just right (thanks for the tip bigcountry!)Good flavor, nice and crunchy and chewy in all the right spots. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
YUMMY! I used 100% natural whole grain old fashioned Quaker Oats and followed the recipe leaving out the walnuts due to diet restriction but baked for 9 minutes. I also used parchment paper instead of greasing a cookie sheet. Perfect! I would have loved to have added the walnuts as I feel that would have put it over the top. I made 24 cookies so they must have been a little smaller than called for. I did notice that I ran the mixer a little longer than I do with other recipes, so it was really well mixed. Thank you Bryan for sharing such a YUMMY recipe!! We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made these for recipe group. My 12yo made these with me with no problems. Mmmm....big, soft, chewy oatmeal cookies. Subbed butter for shortening so cookies spread more but still very good. 9 minutes baking time is spot on. Used a medium cookie scoop and yielded 23 cookies. Thank you Bryan for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Recipe Group selection from 1/11/12. I followed the process and ingredients with the exception of omitting the nuts (allergies) but the baking time and temps were not compatible with my oven. The tbs measure for the cookies was too small, at minimum it should be a well rounded tbs and that would still yield a rather small cookie. I used a #40 scoop, just shy of 2 oz and got 21 cookies. I realize different ovens may not run true to temperature, but 400F at 13 minutes gave me a seriously over cooked very spread cookie. 9 minutes gave me raw centers and almost over done edges and still very spread. 375 was still too hot. I finally settled on 350 for 13 minutes which gave me evenly baked cookies with just a crisp edge and a chewy center. And they didn't spread as much as at the higher temperatures. They do taste good, though, so thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
As far as I can see, the only flaw in this recipe is the combination of the temp and cook time. I dropped my time to 9 minutes at 400 degrees, and they were perfect. I tweaked it a bit, due to what I had on hand. I used coconut oil - which was a new experience. Other than it being super solid, and having to beat it down (= for a long time to get it to incorporate, it worked well. And I used chopped pecans, instead of the walnuts. I questioned the "1/3 tsp" measure on the baking soda and vanilla - but found one in ONE of my sets of measuring spoons. [I forgot the vanilla, by the way - and it was fine (=] I did roll them into balls and flatten them into patties, after reading sassyoldlady's review. I did 12 as is, then added a heaping 1/3 c chocolate covered craisins for the second half batch. It yielded 23 cookies. But I was picking at the dough [which was so yummy!], and I bet I ate my 24th cookie raw (= I brought them to work to share, and these got RAVE reviews from my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Made these for Recipe Group 1/11/13. The cookies were really very good. Baking time was about 9 1/2 min to perfection. The order of ingredients, as written, & the directions are a mess. IDK whether it's the submitter's write up but it should've been corrected/simplified by AR before being published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Recipe Group Selection ~ 12, January 2013 – I really enjoyed this oatmeal cookie. Crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, just like I think oatmeal cookies should be. I thought the order of the listed ingredients and the directions were a mess. Usually the listed ingredients are in the order of the directions – not with this one. I tried baking these 2 different ways. Fourteen minutes at 400° would have been too long in my oven. After flattening the cookies, just a little, they were done at the 9 minute mark at 400°. I also tried baking for 11 minutes at 350° without flattening at all. This resulted in my favorite baked cookie. I think this is a great tasting cookie that kept well without losing the crunchiness or softness. Thanks Bryan for sharing your recipe. I think this was a great pick for “Recipe Group” this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States