Brussels Sprouts with Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
A great recipe, but I found you can cut out most of the butter to reduce fat and still maintain the great flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
What a nice change from the usual brussels sprouts with bacon! I sliced mine in half and boiled them for about 10 mins but will shorten that for next time since I like them a little more crisp. I used red grapes, garlic, less butter and olive oil and omitted the onions. I sprinkled a little parmesan and bread crumbs before serving but I think next time I'll try some goat cheese or gorgonzola. Last week I had dinner at a Lebanese restaurant in NY and one of our appetizers was this dish! They used green grapes and it was also delicious. However, I believe the restaurant's version was oven-roasted and there was a cheese sprinkled on top if I remember correctly. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was fabulous! All of my family loved it. Just a couple of tweaks; I used frozen Brussel Sprouts and let them thaw in the fridge. They were just right for tossing in without the boiling stage (big time saver) plus they're smaller so no need to slice into halves and they were a nice size with the large red grapes. I also followed the advice of another review and used walnuts (large chop) at the very end just before serving EXCELLENT touch! I used jar chopped garlic and since there were no green onions in the house I used chives from the garden. I let mine sit long enough to get a bit of a carmelized effect on the sprouts for huge flavor. This was the best, you just have to be brave and give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Hmm... although my husband liked it, this will not be a "do over". There's a time and a place for brussel sprouts and grapes, but the same pot is not it. To put it another way... I like chocolate, and I also like niblet corn, but I'm not going to cook them together either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This is great tasting - even for those who don't like Brussel Sprouts. My 2 year old liked it, especially the grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good, but a little heavy on the fat side. The garlic is the predominant flavour here, along with the butter. The grapes realy balance this vegetable dish. I thought it was so odd, I had to try it. I served it at our Thanksgiving dinner, and had surprised reviews on it...from Wow, gapes and brussel Sprouts..to...I don' like brussel sprouts, but this is interesting. It was a fun dish to serve. I bet it wd taste even better with a little lemon juice. I would do it again...but I would like to experiment with another recipe for brussel sprouts until I find the perfet combination of spices for these little baby cabbages!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This is the first time I have been able to get the bitter taste out of brussels sprouts. A totally fantastic recipe. I almost ate the whole pan myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This seemed like an interesting recipe to try, but it turned out just okay for me. My husband only ate one bite and I finished my serving fine. Perfectly edible but not particularly enjoyable for us. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made this recipe for the first time and took it to a holiday party. It was well-liked, everyone wanted the recipe. I didn't use any butter, but did add more olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Thought this recipe would be wierd, but it was great. We both love brussel sprouts and grapes, but couldn't imagine them together. I used some white onions and omitted the butter. The results were great. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States