Brussels Sprouts with Grapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I had brussels sprouts, red grapes, and green onions left over from my Christmas menu so I thought what the heck? These were surprisingly good. As written I can only give it 4 stars. 30 minutes total cook time on the sprouts was too long and 4 tablespoons of butter is too much in my opinion. Cut the cook time and butter and you have yourself a unique and wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This seemed like an interesting recipe to try, but it turned out just okay for me. My husband only ate one bite and I finished my serving fine. Perfectly edible but not particularly enjoyable for us. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was fabulous! All of my family loved it. Just a couple of tweaks; I used frozen Brussel Sprouts and let them thaw in the fridge. They were just right for tossing in without the boiling stage (big time saver) plus they're smaller so no need to slice into halves and they were a nice size with the large red grapes. I also followed the advice of another review and used walnuts (large chop) at the very end just before serving EXCELLENT touch! I used jar chopped garlic and since there were no green onions in the house I used chives from the garden. I let mine sit long enough to get a bit of a carmelized effect on the sprouts for huge flavor. This was the best, you just have to be brave and give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good, but a little heavy on the fat side. The garlic is the predominant flavour here, along with the butter. The grapes realy balance this vegetable dish. I thought it was so odd, I had to try it. I served it at our Thanksgiving dinner, and had surprised reviews on it...from Wow, gapes and brussel Sprouts..to...I don' like brussel sprouts, but this is interesting. It was a fun dish to serve. I bet it wd taste even better with a little lemon juice. I would do it again...but I would like to experiment with another recipe for brussel sprouts until I find the perfet combination of spices for these little baby cabbages!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very delicious, we all loved it. Next time, I will not cook the sprouts so long in boiling water. If I use fresh sprouts I might even consider bypassing the boiling water part, I like my sprouts with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanie zucchini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Thought this recipe would be wierd, but it was great. We both love brussel sprouts and grapes, but couldn't imagine them together. I used some white onions and omitted the butter. The results were great. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I would do more grapes and needs an extra punch like pine nuts or walnuts and do use salt or extra seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used a small bag of frozen brussel sprouts. I pricked the bag and cooked them in the bag in the microwave on HI for about 4 minutes. Cut each brussel sprout in 1/2 before combining with the other ingredients. Also 1/2 the other ingredients, and I only used about 1T. olive oil, cooking in a non-stick skillet to cook them. The taste was similar to an Asian sweet-sour with the grape, onion, garlic against the brussel sprouts. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States