Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I have been making this recipe for over 2 years and it never disappoints! The only thing I do differently is roast the sprouts for 15 minutes cut side down then another 5 cut side up. We found that the extra 5 minutes worked best for our taste. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe starshinesMonet. I have yet to make them and hear anything but praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Sooooo good! Next time, I would skip soaking the sprouts for 1 hour as we found no noticeable change in taste. If wanting softer sprouts versus crunchier ones, soaking for 10-15 minutes is sufficient. The extra moisture creates steam while oven roasting. Roasting is what gives sprouts a sweeter flavor than when they’re sauteed, steamed, or boiled. Overcooking sprouts will release a sulfur compound (glucosinolates), producing an unpleasant smell and flavor that contributes to why people dislike this veggie. Having no cream sherry, paired equal parts oloroso sherry & semi secco marsala thereby tempering the sweetness of the sauce a bit. The sherry bacon cream sauce is so darn good that it’s hard to resist eating it straight from the pan. A great dish for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Have to admit, I was worried. The roasting sprouts put out an awful odor, so much so, I shut the oven off and good thing because they were done in half the time. I just kept thinking next time I am boiling them, BUT, in the end it was worth it, they made the dish beautiful being browned and the cream sauce delicious. I grew a love for sherry. I felt it came out a very fancy dish and will make again on the holidays. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is an absolutely scrumptious, restaurant quality recipe for Brussels sprouts. I made it for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I savored the leftovers which only became more flavorful the next day. I added lots of mushrooms, a bit more than called for. I'd like to try it with milk instead of the heavy cream to cut down on calories. I didn't have the sherry, so I added a bit of red wine. Best recipe ever for Brussels sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very yummy. People who don't even dig brussels sprouts, loved this side dish. I substituted port wine for cream sherry. This compliments the "Beef Tenderloin With Roasted Shallots" recipe also on this site (which also uses port wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
If there were more stars I'd use them too. This is delicious My family doesn't "do" green food in general especially things like Brussel sprouts. Now they ask me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I decided to experiment with this recipe. I thought this would be great for Christmas Eve dinner but I have to work Christmas Eve until 2. So I decided to try this recipe ahead of time to see what would happen. So I roasted the Brussels sprouts a day ahead and also made the sauce the day before. I must first add that I followed the ingredients and most of the instructions exactly as written. I prepared the Brussels sprouts exactly as written and put them in a casserole dish after they were roasted, covered with saran wrap. Then I made the sauce exactly as written except after it began to boil I put it into a container and put it into the fridge, I did not let it reduce by half. The next day when I was ready to try my experiment I put the Brussels sprouts into oven at 325 because I was roasting a chicken, and let them heat up in oven for about 15 min, meanwhile I put the prepared sauce in a sauce pan and let it heat up. When the chicken was done and the Brussels sprouts were hot I poured the sauce over them and mixed the sauce and Brussels sprouts together. (Oh sorry, I forgot I doubled the cooked bacon and made sure to cook it until crisp) (I have bacon lovers) I left a few teaspoons of bacon grease in pan when sautéing the onion and mushroom and garlic. I could not believe how good this turned out. I will be making this for Christmas Eve 2013 thanks to your great recipe and my experiment. Thank You !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I always thought brussel sprouts were awful and bitter. Cooking them the right way makes them so good. I didn't want to turn on my oven so I boiled them for about 6 minutes and then browned them, the mushrooms, onion and garlic in my bacon grease until they browned a bit. Add the cream and sherry. Turn off burner, cover with lid and let them sit for a bit to soak up the cream sauce. If you can wait, refrigerate overnight. These taste even better to me as a COLD SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States