Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I decided to experiment with this recipe. I thought this would be great for Christmas Eve dinner but I have to work Christmas Eve until 2. So I decided to try this recipe ahead of time to see what would happen. So I roasted the Brussels sprouts a day ahead and also made the sauce the day before. I must first add that I followed the ingredients and most of the instructions exactly as written. I prepared the Brussels sprouts exactly as written and put them in a casserole dish after they were roasted, covered with saran wrap. Then I made the sauce exactly as written except after it began to boil I put it into a container and put it into the fridge, I did not let it reduce by half. The next day when I was ready to try my experiment I put the Brussels sprouts into oven at 325 because I was roasting a chicken, and let them heat up in oven for about 15 min, meanwhile I put the prepared sauce in a sauce pan and let it heat up. When the chicken was done and the Brussels sprouts were hot I poured the sauce over them and mixed the sauce and Brussels sprouts together. (Oh sorry, I forgot I doubled the cooked bacon and made sure to cook it until crisp) (I have bacon lovers) I left a few teaspoons of bacon grease in pan when sautéing the onion and mushroom and garlic. I could not believe how good this turned out. I will be making this for Christmas Eve 2013 thanks to your great recipe and my experiment. Thank You !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I always thought brussel sprouts were awful and bitter. Cooking them the right way makes them so good. I didn't want to turn on my oven so I boiled them for about 6 minutes and then browned them, the mushrooms, onion and garlic in my bacon grease until they browned a bit. Add the cream and sherry. Turn off burner, cover with lid and let them sit for a bit to soak up the cream sauce. If you can wait, refrigerate overnight. These taste even better to me as a COLD SALAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Excellent flavors, easy instructions. Double batch disappeared during Thanksgiving dinner. Might substitute half and half or light cream for the cream component next time, otherwise, spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
WOW. I skipped the pre-soak routine. Think it's not needed. The whole family devoured it. The sprouts melted in your mouth after the high temperature roasting and the creamy, smokey sauce is just perfect. I skipped the soak and the mushrooms and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
My favourite brussel sprouts recipe. In my opinion, this recipe will change people's minds about brussel sprouts! I have made it a few times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is amazing! It is like a real comfort food. My daughter even made the comment that it was now one of her all time favorite things. I followed the recipe as it was written except I just had plain Sherry, instead of cream sherry. If you think brussel sprouts are bitter then don't skip the salt water soak. I've never really notice bitterness before but my daughter has and she said this did make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners last year. Was a hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My daughter who doesn't like sprouts ate this up. I had to substitute shallots for red onion. I also increased the garlic to compensate for the lack of shallots. I see why it has been getting 5 stars. It would be great for a company dinner also. Don't bother to make it without doubling it. Everyone will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Its nice to have something different and this works. good sauce just had to pretty much double it because to me it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is a winner in our house. Even the kids like it. No alterations, perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States