Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Wasn't sure my family would like brussel sprouts - they ate them up so fast and asked for more. Will definitely double this recipe next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was just okay. I had a bag of fresh cranberries that I bought on a whim. Added them to the sauce while cooking. I let them cook until they started to burst. They were great and really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent! I'm allergic to mushrooms so left them out, but got rave reviews from the 22 people we had at Christmas dinner! This is actually a dish I will make again, but will make it one day in advance...it's even better the 2nd day as I'm finding out right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the first time I ever made brussels sprouts for my family. I was very nervous as they took their first bites, but all of them (including a 9-yo and a 7-yo) ate it and complimented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These were fantastic! I didn't change a thing with the recipe (which is unusual for me), and even the pickiest (non vegetable) eaters asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are awesome. They have a very good flavor and texture. We are not normally fans of brussels sprouts, but we liked these! They are even good re-heated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Recipe was easy. I thought the sherry was a little over powering but all in all a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grniddevil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
The sauce was fantastic for the this recipe. I have to add a couple of comments though. The recipe does not mention what to do with the bacon grease after cooking the bacon; I drained the majority of it after cooking, leaving a teaspoon or so to saute the shallots. I think much more would have made the sauce too greasy. Also, be warned that cooking the sprouts as recommended on a cookie sheet leaves them very al dente. I prefer mine a little softer. If I make this again, which I probably will, I most likey will steam the sprouts instead. Soaking them in the salt water did a nice job of removing the bitterness usually associated with the vegetable and was a good trick - one I will use again. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and even people who don't like brussels sprouts raved about how good it is. A definite hit and most likely a new Thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States